Pet peeves, mostly of the linguistic variety

7 Mar

I need to start with saying: I’m not in a bad mood today. In fact, I’m in a pretty dang good mood. But when I woke up, the first words out of my mouth were, “I hate your snooze button with the passion of a thousand suns.”

So I thought I’d expand on that.

I destest the snooze button.

Especially when it’s being used by someone in the same bed as I am.

When I crash at the beau’s, he gets up an hour before I do. He showers; I stay in bed. When he’s ready to leave, he gets me up and I go home (he starts work earlier than I do).

However, he loves him some snooze button. And let me tell you: When that snooze button is not for you, and you don’t have to get up for another hour, that dang alarm becomes the bane of your existence because after the second time, there is no way to fall back asleep.

To try next time (because what’s the point in complaining if you can’t fix the problem?): When the alarm goes off and he hits snooze, I should move to the couch for the rest of my morning slumber.

Other pet peeves, which all revolve around word usage:

  • The use of the word “literally.” I’ve seen this on other blogs before, but it bares repeating. I think people forget what “literally” means. It means “actually.” It means “This happened in real life.” So when you say, “Ohmigod, that movie was so scary, I literally shit my pants,” I want to offer you Depends. What you mean to say, perhaps, is “almost.” Or, more likely, “figuratively,” as in “this is a figure of speech, and I do have better bowel control than a toddler.”
  • There is no B in “supposedly,” as in, “it is supposed.” I wonder where the incorrect pronunciation “supposably” came from? It’s not a word.
  • The use of the word “random.” This word means “related to nothing.” This is a random photo:

I have not thought about giraffes in … I can’t remember the last time I thought about giraffes. I never blog about them. They don’t really come up. As such, this is truly random.

This, however, is not:

I know it has nothing to do with this post, but it’s not really random because, ya know, I sell jewelry on Etsy, so I think about it a lot. I blog about it a lot. I made these earrings just last night. “Unrelated” might be a more accurate word. “Random” is not.

OK, just for shits ‘n’ giggles, I looked up “random” on Merriam-Webster. Its “official” definition is “without definite aim, direction, rule, or method.” That makes all those, “How random is this???” comments even more inane. Because there’s probably a point to what you’re saying.

There was no point to the giraffe.

Your turn: What’s your pet peeve? I bet it’s people who are annoying and bitch about the way people talk, isn’t it?

6 Responses to “Pet peeves, mostly of the linguistic variety”

  1. Ally March 7, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    Ha! I love this. My linguistic pet peeves are your and you’re and then and than (and any others along those lines). I know when typing fast it’s easy to do – I’m sure I have, too. But it still bugs. Oh, and I love that giraffe picture! Even if it is “random”… 😉

  2. Kevin March 7, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    You can tell I’m getting old, because I hate it when those damn kids over use “like” and improperly use “good” when “well” is appropriate

  3. Suburban Sweetheart March 7, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    I HATTTTE “random.” SO MUCH. I’ve taken to says “spontaneous” & “miscellaneous,” as I feel they often make much more send for the things people usually relate to “random.”

  4. The Writing Runner March 7, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    haha… “There was no point to the giraffe.” I love it… because it was so random! 🙂

  5. Sarah @ The Crazy Baby Mama March 7, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    i LITERALLY laughed out loud when i read this.

  6. Stephanie March 7, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    I can just picture Joey from Friends trying to figure out what was wrong with the word “supposably.”

    I use the word random incorrectly and I’m pretty sure I will continue to use the word random incorrectly. It’s absolutely a habit. Please, forgive me….

I'd love to hear what you think!

