Casey Abrams put a spell on me

4 Mar

I’ve been falling off the Idol bandwagon lately. I was tired of the judges, and none of the singers got to me. It was same old, same old and big fat yawn-city.

But then, Steven Tyler came around. And J-Lo came around. And while I was curious about the former, I figured the latter would blow.

And both turned out to be pretty spectacular, as is Randy in his new role as veteran and as hard ass.

And then, to serve as the little cheery on top (and the whipped cream, and the sprinkles, and the marshmallow sauce) is the super stupendous Casey Abrams.

I first really noticed the man with the big raspy voice when he toted out his bass during his Hollywood week solo, “Georgia On My Mind.”

I’ve been watching this week in bits and pieces because, frankly, at this stage in the game, the contestants are usually bad. I prefer a top 12 to a top 24 so the crappy folks are weeded out.

So after watching the top 13 (oooh, snuck in an extra, those sneaky judges) last night, I went on a search for Abrams’ Tuesday night performance. Idol showed a snippet last night, and all I really got from it is that he sang “I Put a Spell on You.” I know, perfect, right?

And then I found it. And then I started shaking with happy. Won’t you shake, too?

Seriously, there’s the American Idol the competition, and then there’s this guy competing against, well, no one. Because no one even comes close. He’s got stage presence in a completely effortless way. He’s confident and, you know, sounds friggin’ awesome. Those final two notes? Lord. You expect him to belt them out like a mad man, but he pulls it back and shows, “Hey, what up? I have a sweet falsetto.” I mean, Tyler actually shakes his head. J-Lo grins like a surprised fool. And Randy is so obviously impressed.

Naturally, I had to look up “I Put A Spell on You,” and I found: There are a whole lot of really spectacular versions:

Nina Simone:

Joe Cocker:

Creedence Clearwater Revival:

And, the version I’m most familiar with, Screamin’ Jay Hawkins:

Which is your favorite? I say Jay and Nina.

2 Responses to “Casey Abrams put a spell on me”

  1. Mary March 4, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    This might mark the first time we have ever wholeheartedly agreed on something related to American Idol– I’ve been in love with Casey Abrams since he pulled out a melodica in his first audition…

I'd love to hear what you think!

