Finding the pretty in the ugly

2 Feb

When people ask about what kind of jewelry I make, one of my most common responses is that I like to go to antique stores, find ugly things, and make them pretty.

This piece is a perfect example of that

When I first saw this God-awful necklace, the first thing I noticed was that terrible, chipped white chain.

The second thing I saw were earrings.

Those little white beads connected by what looked to be cotton had the sweetest little flowers on them. Very shabby chic, very now, and very adorable.

So I made earrings.

Click on the image to see more of the earrings. ($9)

The second thing I saw was another use for that pendant. I loved it, even on the ugly necklace. But it was way too busy. There was too much going on.

I did like the length of the necklace, though, so I kept it long. Now, the pendant is on a 20-inch long necklace. I used a double chain in a slim silver-toned link. This lets the pretty in the pendant stand out much better than the original composition did.

Click on the image to see more of the necklace. ($12)

Now, I hate throwing jewelry out. I figured, “There HAS to be something I can do with that ugly white chain.” I wrapped each piece, which are all the same length, around my wrist, but they was too small. So I took five of the six pieces and joined them with a new and slightly larger jump ring. I took the final piece of chain and used that as the connector, trimming a little off so it didn’t hang too long.

Now, I have a multi-strand, chunky chain bracelet that can fit a 6 1/2-inch wrist, an 8 1/2-inch wrist, and everything in between.

Wouldn’t you figure that of the three pieces that came from the ugly necklace, the bracelet is my favorite?

Click on the image to see more of the bracelet. ($13)

The clasp from the original necklace is on the bracelet, and each piece has some of the jump rings from the original piece.

Yeah, this is my favorite part of jewelry making, hands down.

One Response to “Finding the pretty in the ugly”

  1. Jayme (The Random Blogette) February 3, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    You have such an amazing eye for this stuff. I love it all, but I especially love that bracelet!

I'd love to hear what you think!

