Fashion magazines become envelopes

30 Jan

At Jaclyn1423, I like to reuse things. It’s part of why I enjoy upcycling vintage jewelry or fixing broken jewelry. When I receive a package in the mail in a box, I reuse the box. If bubble wrap is still bubbly, I’ll reuse that, too. Mailing people jewelry takes so much tape and paper and packaging, I feel like it’s the least I can do.

I recently found a new way to reuse goodies to make my packaging even cooler (well, I think it’s cooler). I found a how-to for making paper envelopes, and I’m using fashion mags for those envelopes.

I have tons of old copies of, oh let’s see here, Rolling Stone, Elle, Marie Claire, Entertainment Weekly, Esquire and more around my apartment. The fashion magazines in particular have pages that make pretty striking envelopes. See how pretty?!

The part of the envelope that would be addressed were they "normal" envelopes meant for mailing.

The innards of an envelope.

See how perfectly my business card and smaller jewelry pieces fit inside?

Any of my smaller goodies that fit on my business cards will be arriving to your doorstep in these adorable, recycled fashion magazine envelopes, tied with a ribbon and wrapped in bubble wrap for extra protection.

I know it’s dorky to get so excited over something silly like paper envelopes, but one of the benefits of buying handmade is this kind of personalization. I hope you like my little envelopes as much as I do!

4 Responses to “Fashion magazines become envelopes”

  1. Joyce January 30, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    Cute

  2. Ally January 31, 2011 at 2:14 am #

    I think it’s great! I received a gift of jewelry from a friend that arrived in a little box with lid made from map paper! Very cute envelopes.

  3. Alisha in Ohio January 31, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    You are just way too creative Jacy! Love the envelopes!

  4. va February 1, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    so great of you to be eco friendly . i try to be as much as possible .

I'd love to hear what you think!

