2011: A year of giveaways for Jaclyn1423

16 Jan

I should start by saying: This is not a new year’s resolution. I don’t really believe in new year’s resolutions because I don’t think you should need a new year to change something about yourself that displeases you. When you’re unhappy with your job, apply for a new one next week! When you’re unhappy with your figure, start watching your portions tonight for dinner. When all the books on your shelf are so dusty you could write your name across the cover of “Eat, Pray, Love,” crack one open tonight before you turn out the light.

So to reiterate: This is not a new year’s resolution.

Last year, Jaclyn1423 saw more success than I could have dreamed, and I want to see that success continue. For the last few months of 2010, I had a goal of selling two items a week. After the Christmas rush, I see I’ve dreamed too small. I’m not sure how many sales a week I do want, but it’s something more than two.

So I’m trying to decide  how best to achieve these goals. For one, I’m making more Etsy treasuries. The more treasuries I make, the more I see others pay it forward and so include me in a treasury.

Second, I’m being pickier with what I’m including in my shop and instead looking to improve my photos and relist my items more often. For a while there, Jaclyn1423 was getting close to having 200 items in it and … well, wow. That’s just too many. I find Etsy shops with more than a hundred items for sale to be kind of overwhelming, let alone 200.

Third, and perhaps most importantly/funly (is that a word? Probably not …) I’m asking, nay, begging bloggers to help a sister out and host some Jaclyn1423 giveaways. One of the bloggers I zeroed in on was Erin over at The Mother Load. Not only are her blogs witty and incredibly well-written, but she builds such an amazing report with her readers. It’s truly a thing to be envied, but not in a creepy, jealous way — in a “Way to go, Girl!!” kind of way.

Erin doesn’t use her blog for too many giveaways, but she was willing to use those myriad connections and find people who would help me out. I’d like to host one giveaway per month on different blogs. January’s giveaway will be hosted by my bestie over at Does This Baby Make Me Look Fat? This week, she will open up a giveaway of one of these beauties.

I first made a shaggy necklace when Stephanie asked. The second was made for a brides's maid of honor -- she found me through Etsy. The third was for my mom. Let me make the fourth for you!

To all Snap, Crackle, Pop’s readers, I thank you for reading the musings of a girl who likes to blabber. To all Jaclyn1423 shoppers and browsers, I thank you for making it worth it for me to keep up  with one of the best hobbies I’ve picked up.

One Response to “2011: A year of giveaways for Jaclyn1423”

  1. Jayme (The Random Blogette) January 17, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    HI Jaclyn! I am a new reader because Erin sent me. I just read her e-mail about helping you out and I am more than happy to do that. I sent you an e-mail as well!

I'd love to hear what you think!

