Sometimes, simple is better

14 Jan

Would you like some ground roasted peanuts and grape juice?

Sure.

How about some high fructose corn syrup and corn syrup?

Well, if there’s no way around it …

Dextrose?

What’s that now? A part of glucose found in honey and fruits? Why didn’t you say so?

What about some delicious vegetable monoglycerides from palm oil?

No thanks?

Pectin. Salt. Citric acid.

Sigh, why not.

Potassium sorbate (preservative). Sodium citrate.

Well, that hardly seems necessary.

You know what? No, I don’t think I will have a Goober peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

For The Red Dress Club’s “pantry” prompt.

Awesome pillows available at DifractionFiber: http://diffractionfiber.etsy.com

6 Responses to “Sometimes, simple is better”

  1. Valerie January 14, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    I like this alot!

    It’s so true that actually reading the ingredients can be a total turn off-especially when you don’t know what a lot of them are. (Unless chocolate is involved and then I’ll eat anything!)

  2. Nichole January 14, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Love this!
    We work really hard to eat only whole foods in our house. If I can’t pronounce it, I don’t give it to my kids.
    This post makes me feel normal. 🙂

    • Jaclyn January 14, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

      HA! I wish I could be so disciplined. I wrote this _after_ I ate my Goober PB&J. I thought, “Oh, I should see what’s in it! … Huh … How about that?” And yet, I love it so. I guess I could have done my Wonder Bread, but eek that’s a lot of ingredients for bread!

      You definitely ARE normal. I should care more about what I eat, for sure!

  3. Jessica Anne January 14, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    It’s scary what’s in things sometimes. I wish they’d just make things simply, it would make my life so much easier. And those are awesome pillows!

  4. Cheryl @ Mommypants January 14, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    As an avid ingredient reader, some of this stuff is REALLY scary, isn’t it?

  5. Andrea January 15, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    This is why I didn’t do the prompt yet … I was like, oh no! TOO much crap in my food. 😀

I'd love to hear what you think!

