The shop that kept calm & carried on

10 Jan

There are a handful of trends on Etsy that seem to pop up out of nowhere: owls, foxes, moustaches.

The one I find most baffling? “Keep calm and carry on,” along with thousands of inspired-by quotes.

I have to say kudos to the shops for filling a very definite demand, and many are doing so creatively. But I think the trick to these trends, for them to really stand out, is to do something totally different.

One of my favorite quotes, by Anais Nin, is “The role of a writer is not to say what we can all say but what we are unable to say.” In this case, I say the role of an Etsy shop is to figure out a new way to keep calm whilst carrying on.

I can’t image it’s easy.

Claireandjanae nailed it.

One Response to “The shop that kept calm & carried on”

  1. Janae January 10, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    thanks so much for including my print- I’m honored 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

