Shop Talk: BitsandBarley

10 Jan

I first found the subject of this week’s Shop Talk, Bits and Barley, from the front page of Etsy. An item from the shop was featured: some amazing bobby pins made from books. After I started to browse the shop, I quickly fell in love with Bits and Barley’s style and charm. It’s definitely a shop that stands out in terms of color and feel.

It’s my pleasure to introduce you to Maude, of Tyler, Texas.

Your work has such a pretty, rustic style to it. What is it about the style that appeals to you? I love the natural feel it conveys. I like the simple approachability to it, yet it can be quite pretty and elegant as well.

Tell me about the best-selling item in your shop. The best selling item in my shop is probably the book page bobby pins I make. Like most of everything I make, I originally just made them for myself; they’re my favorite clips in my box.

Book page bobby pins -- $7.50 (Click on the image to see more.)

I adore all those paper book rosettes on your pieces. How did you think of using them in bobby pins or decor? Where does the paper come from? I started playing around with paper flowers a good while ago but just sort of let the idea hang at the back of mind, not ready to take it too seriously, until one day I just really latched on to and ran with the idea. Most of the paper I use is from recycled books and magazines; some of it comes from a specialty paper store here in town.

What are your favorite things you’ve purchased on Etsy? If you’ve not made any purchases, tell me about your favorite shops. I totally adore Sinner Saints and Sweets! Their candy apples are to die for, and their customer service is top notch!! I also really love my prints by Nan Lawson.

Autumn Girl - Pen and Ink Illustration - 5x7 print by Nan Lawson

How did you come up with your shop name? Bits & Barley is named after the two most awesome buddies I’ve ever had in my life: my two dogs, Little Bit and Barley.

Give Maude’s shop a browse. What’s your favorite item?

Rosette brooch by Bits and Barley

2 Responses to “Shop Talk: BitsandBarley”

  1. Maude January 11, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Thank you so much you’ve done such a wonderful job!

  2. Sarah January 14, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    What a gorgeous and unique shop! Thanks for sharing her talent with us 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

