15 fictional characters I love

8 Jan

This is actually a Facebook note going around, but I liked it enough that I figured it’d be a better blog post.

The rules: List 15 fictional characters (television, films, plays, books) who’ve influenced you and that will always stick with you, and don’t take too long to think about it. List the first 15 you can recall in no more than 15 minutes.

Who would be on your list? Even if you don’t come up with 15, I’m curious to see the ones that do come to mind quickly.

1. Harry Potter
2. Jake Chambers (King’s The Dark Tower series)
3. Boo (Monster’s Inc.)
4. Wall-E
5. Alan Shore/Denny Crane (If you’ve seen Boston Legal, you know why this constitutes one entry.)
6. Annie Wilkes (“Misery”)
7. Donald Duck

This is much harder than I thought it’d be. I’m an avid reader, but 1) I have the memory of an Alzheimer’s patient, and I think if a character really belongs on this list, I shouldn’t have to look up that character’s name — I remember details! Just not names … and 2) Aside from Stephen King, I most love to read memoirs. They’re not exactly fictional. OK, eight more.

8. Regan (“The Exorcist”)
9. Henry Drummond (“Inherit the Wind”)
10. Maximus (“Gladiator”)
11. Heathcliff Huxtable

12. Ted Brautigan (“Hearts in Atlantis”)
13.  Neville Longbottom (Potter)
14. Rose of Sharon (“Grapes of Wrath”)
15. Stacey McGill (Baby-sitters Club)

There you have it. Fifteen characters that have stuck in my mind for better or for worse. Who are yours?

2 Responses to “15 fictional characters I love”

  1. alisha January 8, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    While I am terrified to know how Annie and Regan have influenced you… I am delighted to see Ms. Stacey Mcgill on your list!!

  2. Jaclyn January 8, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    Less “influenced,” more “will always stick with you” 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

