How a little customer service turned around an atrocious day

15 Dec

Today started out atrocious. I was so livid, I could have just as easily have stabbed you in the face as curled in fetal position and started to sob, the kind that leaks down your face like the grossest river in the history of ever.

A few days ago, I contacted an Etsy seller. I had purchased a Christmas gift from her and thought I should have received it. She told me her tracking showed it had been delivered. I thought she meant to the local post office, so I figured I’d wait a few days, that post offices are always slow in December.

So last night, I looked up the tracking information she had sent me. I saw that it had indeed been delivered, as she said — but to me, not the post office. It arrived around noon on Friday.

I never got it. This was me as a result.


I mailed a giant batch of goodies today, and when I finished, I asked the post office if it had my package. An employee took my tracking number and started to look. He confirmed I was right: It had been delivered. Which means some asswad swiped it.

I went home and wrote a note. I tacked it to the board above the mail boxes asking that it be returned. I was nice. I did not threaten to stab the thief in the face.

By the time I got back to work, my stomach felt even worse; shouldn’t I have gotten that Amazon package, too? I looked up the tracking information, and what do you know: That package was delivered to my home around 9:30 a.m. Saturday. Coulda fooled me.

Part of rage was that, sure, I was missing Christmas gifts. I didn’t mind being out the money so much as I minded the odd sense of violation I felt. Yes, the boxes were left outside my door, so no one entered my apartment, but that’s still my property that someone took. Someone saw boxes filled with goodies for my boyfriend, for his brother and for his niece, and he or she thought it’d be cool to give those goodies to that significant other, or brother or niece.

I contacted both the Etsy seller and Amazon and told them what happened. Amazon immediately responded that it would resend my items and upgrade the shipping to one-day, free of charge. Those gifts should arrive tomorrow, and I want to hug someone who works for Amazon as a result. Buying gifts can be stressful anyway, but when your perfect gift gets stolen??? And when the merchant replaces said gift? It’s a beautiful thing.

As for the Etsy seller, she offered to scan in more of her merchandise that was similar to what I had ordered the first time. She told me to let her know before I bought anything, and we could work out a deal. I almost teared up, so touched that someone was willing to do that for someone who had a little rotten Christmas luck.

3 Responses to “How a little customer service turned around an atrocious day”

  1. Mrs. MidAtlantic December 15, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    Ooh, some people are on Santa’s naughty list now! Not to mention it’s a federal offense to take someone else’s mail. Glad to hear you met with such great customer service though! I had a similarly great experience with Shutterfly this week.

    • Jaclyn December 15, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

      When I got my mail today, I noticed my “Give me my package back!” note had a friend. Apparently, my neighbor is missing a package too. Geez!

  2. Suburban Sweetheart December 15, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

    I’m so glad Amazon and that seller were kind enough to try to fix your Christmas! Someone else sure is a grinch.

I'd love to hear what you think!

