A low-key and lovely Thanksgiving

26 Nov

For the second time since I was 10 or 11, I did not have to travel for Thanksgiving.

And it was glorious.

I spent yesterday with the beau and his family. There were eight of us, plus a spastic dog and the softest kitty who ever tried to kill me with her laser beam eyes, and we all fit around one table (plus the middle extension).

Thanksgivings for me have been varied throughout the years. There was that one year in college I probably should have died; I went home from Kent with a then-boyfriend who, when it started to blizzard like a mutha, drove for me. Per my request.

Bad decision. This ex is kind of, oh, let’s say “flighty.” Easily distracted. In bumper-to-bumper blizzard traffic, you cannot under any circumstances be flighty. Add to it that the seven-hour drive required 10 1/2. It took all of Thanksgiving to release the tension in my muscles.

Since my parents moved back to Illinois, they usually have the holiday. Before that, however, everyone went to Nani and Papa’s. My dad’s parents lived in a teeny little town called Channahon, and we’d all squeeze around the kitchen table and stuff our faces. It was loud, and it smelled amazing. Nani and Papa are Assyrian, so that food always has interesting and wonderful spices and scents and ingredients.

They moved to Vegas a few years ago, and I haven’t had that feeling in years. I didn’t even know I missed it.

But last week, the beau and I went to Vegas. We saw friends, we saw the sights and we saw Nani and Papa. On our last night there, the four of us plus my aunt and cousin sat around Nani’s kitchen table, the one with the clear plastic table cloth over the white doily, plus that ugly napkin holder they’ve had forever, and we ate.

And it felt like Thanksgiving, or like dinnertime in Channahon.

With Nani and Papa. His eyes are closed in every single picture I took

It was wonderful.

And so was yesterday. I love how holidays mark such interesting spurts of growth, maturity and change. I don’t even realize this until I step back and look at where I am, a place I never would have imagined last year, a place I never could have imagined five years ago.

I hope everyone’s Thanksgiving was as full of happiness as mine was.

One Response to “A low-key and lovely Thanksgiving”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart November 27, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    So glad it was a good one. I brought my boyfriend home for the first time, & it was wonderful, too!

I'd love to hear what you think!

