Christmas movies!

17 Nov

My family put up our Christmas tree this weekend. Not because we’re THAT filled with the Christmas spirit, but because Joey is. He likes the tree, and he’s been driving Mom and Dad nuts wanting it up. Since I won’t be home for Thanksgiving this year, when we normally put it up, they have a two week-early tree up.

I can’t say it bothered me. Hell, I love putting up the tree. I can’t wait to put my own up … and I’m massively encouraging the beau to be festive this year, too, and put one up. Mom and I even went Christmas shopping on Saturday (thank you Old Navy Friends & Family coupon).

So, really, this holiday-lovin’ gal is feeling extra festive.

Entertainment Weekly just posted the time of some holiday favorites, so I’m regurgitating them for you, along with a few movies I think are glaring errors from the list, like the best holiday movie of all time: Elf. Because you smell like beef and cheese. You don’t smell like Santa.

(For the record, it’s on USA. A lot — six times between Nov. 21 and Dec. 5)

(All times are Eastern Standard, and I listed them in order of must-watch’ness.)

MUST WATCH
Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town: 8 p.m., Dec. 2, ABC (A very, VERY close second behind Elf. Two words: Burgermeister Meisterburger!)

Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer: 8 p.m., Nov. 30, CBS

A Charlie Brown Christmas: 8 p.m., Dec. 7, ABC

Frosty the Snowman: 8 p.m., Dec. 19, CBS (Not on the EW list — for shame!)

A Christmas Story: Any time you want, Dec. 24, TBS (Gotta love those 24-hour marathons. I hadn’t seen this until recently. A former coworker was mortified by my admission that I’d only ever seen the kid get his tongue stuck to the pole over and over [Isn’t that weird how that works? That you can go so long without seeing a beloved pop culture flick for so long, except for the single scene that is always on whenever you turn on TBS on Christmas eve?]. It’s not even close to the best part, however; I much prefer, “Daddy’s gonna kill Ralphie!”


Mickey’s A Christmas Carol: I can’t find it!!

The Santa Clause: 7 p.m., Dec. 2, ABC Family ( remember loving this but haven’t seen it in years. I no longer get cable, so here’s hoping the beau lets me invade his television so I can watch Tim Allen in a fat suit.)

It’s a Wonderful Life: 8 p.m. Dec. 11 and 24, NBC (I saw this a few years ago when the then-beau was mortified I’d never seen it. A total movie buff, he listed this as one of his favorite flicks ever. So I gave it a watch one Christmas eve … and dang, it’s GOOD.)

Dr. Seuss’ How the Grince Stole Christmas: 7 p.m. Nov. 19 and 21, TBS

SHOULD WATCH
National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation:
1 p.m. Nov. 26 and 4:30 p.m. Nov. 27, Comedy Central (“I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America …” … Again, shame on EW for missing this!)

A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving: 8 p.m., Nov. 18 and 25, ABC

The Bishop’s Wife: Noon, Dec. 12, TCM (Never seen it, but I love the remake. I should probably try to get it in this year.)

The Polar Express: 6 p.m., Dec. 3, ABC Family (I took Joey to see this in the theater. About 10 minutes before it was over, he decided he was done. The pop and popcorn could no longer contain him, and he got up and walked out as I was searching through my purse. When I looked up, he was halfway down the aisle. I have yet to see the movie’s ending.)

MEH
Miracle on 34th Street (the new one): 2 p.m., Nov. 25, NBC (I’ve never seen this version, but I’d thin if you’re going to watch, you should watch the original? Maybe not — As I’d mentioned, I’ve never seen “The Preacher’s Wife,” but I LOVED “The Bishop’s Wife)

Holiday Affair: 12:30 p.m., Dec. 5, TCM (Never heard of it … EW says: “Robert Mitchum and Janet Leigh meet cute and fall in love in this Christmas-season romance about a young widow and a sales clerk who she gets fired.”

Scrooge: 8 p.m., Dec. 9, AMC (Apparently, this is a musical? Maybe worth a shot … but it’s not Scrooge McDuck!)

‘Twas the Night Before Christmas: 7:30 a.m., Dec. 12, ABC Family (Huh? Based on its airtime, I’m probably not going to learn what this movie is this year.)

Scrooged: 8 p.m., Dec. 9, AMC (Apparently, this is a remake starring Bill Murray.)

A Christmas Carol: 9 a.m. Dec. 4 and 11:45 a.m. Dec. 25, TCM (Sorry, I like the cartoon version.)

The Nightmare Before Christmas: 11 p.m., Dec. 4, ABC Family (I don’t like this movie.)

Meet Me in St. Louis: 2 a.m., Dec. 25, TCM (I’ve only heard of this movie because of its reference in the “Sex and the City” movie. Mehhhh. Though I like the idea of a 2 a.m. movie on Christmas eve night …

What are your favorite Christmas movies? Are there any you are sure to watch every year? Any big ones you’ve never seen?

4 Responses to “Christmas movies!”

  1. Michele November 17, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

    Thanks so much for this post! Forgot about a couple of these movies and they are so fabulous! If you enjoy great holiday family films, I have one you need to check out. I just wanted to take the time to share a new film that I have recently discovered. I know in this day & age, we are always looking for good films that can be shared with our families. Homeless for the Holidays is one of these films, & I highly recommend it! As an executive loses it all & has to take a job at a burger shack, this film is also one that many of us are able to relate to today. Based on the real life experience of the director, this is great for a family holiday movie night. Enjoy!

  2. Angie November 17, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

    Wellll, since you asked! 🙂

    MY MUST-WATCH LIST:

    It’s a Wonderful Life

    Miracle on 34th Street (the original, ALWAYS, ONLY; the acting is so wonderful and sweet and genuine)

    White Christmas (Bing Crosby! Snow! George Clooney’s Aunt Rosemary!)

    A Muppet Christmas Carol (This is not on your list — Have you seen it? Not a fan? I watch this and quote it for days after, annoying everyone I know. Surely I have subjected you to this pain.)

    While You Were Sleeping (“I’m not drinking anymore … I’m not drinking any less, either!” -Feisty Grandma)

    OTHERS I REALLY ENJOY AND WILL PROBABLY WATCH

    Joyeux Noel (This is seriously good, but was hard to watch last year while my brother was deployed. Well, everything was hard last year for that reason.)

    Elf

    How the Grinch Stole Christmas (The cartoon one)

    A Charlie Brown Christmas

    Mickey’s A Christmas Carol (Your “I can’t find it!!!!” comment made me LOL; a crisis, indeed!)

    Meet Me in St. Louis (Judy Garland makes me cry every time she sings “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas,” which, incidentally, is one of about three songs I can play well on piano after 12 years of lessons.)

    CONFESSIONAL:

    I have never seen National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation or watched A Christmas Story all the way through. I have the same issue as you with the marathon — I always tune in during the same damn scenes every year! Also on my list as need-to-see – The Bishop’s Wife. I bought it for Michele last year, because we both love Cary Grant, so at least I know where to find it. 🙂

    Thanks for the great list and the food for thought! I didn’t think I was in the Christmas spirit until I saw this — Kudos, Joey.

  3. Suburban Sweetheart November 18, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    I’m sorry, but this list is missing my favorite(s). HOME ALONE. Both of them. YES, EVEN THE CRAPPY SECOND ONE. I own all four, actually…

  4. Mrs. MidAtlantic December 10, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    I love Mickey’s Christmas Carol. It’s so hard to find on TV though, so I bought it on DVD! Amazon!

I'd love to hear what you think!

