Pearl necklace! Hand-knotted and gorgeous, Dahling

20 Oct

Last year, a friend told me she wanted a pearl necklace for her birthday. She had requested one from her then-beau, who said he’d rather get  her something else because, simply, how often does a girl wear pearls?

I say: If you want pearls, you should have pearls, so I learned how to properly string a strand for her.

That means hand-knotting between each strand. Take a look at those teeny. Tiny. Itty. Bitty. Knots.

A YouTube video taught me out to do it, and I’m just thrilled with the outcome.

Why hand-knot between each bead? Well, for one, it keeps natural pearls from rubbing against one another, which will make the strand last longer and protect each bead. Knotting also allows the strand of beads to move easier, more like a snake. When you stick larger beads on any strand up against one another, the piece becomes stiff and difficult to bend; this is why it can be hard to put a beaded bracelet on yourself. Ever notice how, even though the bracelet is plenty long enough for your wrist, you can’t quite get the ends to meet on your own? This is why. If there were knots or spacers between each bead, the bracelet would bend easier.

Lastly, knotting between each bead makes it handier should the strand ever break; there will be no need to go scurrying around, looking for the little pearls all over the floor.

I used all sterling silver findings on this piece, and it’s 16 inches. The pearls are A/B quality and 4 1/2 to 5 mm in diameter. Each necklace is made-to-order, so if you’d like to request anything specific — a particular color bead, a different length of necklace, a gold clasp instead of silver, etc. — I can do that.

Oh yes, and I’m absolutely thrilled with how all the photos turned out. I couldn’t use all of them in the Etsy listing because it will allow only five images per listing. But look at the pretty flowers! I took the pictures on my parents’ deck, and it’s just one more reason I want a house and am sick of a one-bedroom apartment. I want pretty flowers to be rockin’ backdrops on my jewelry pictures!

Do you own pearls? If you don’t, what would you want them to look like? I have two strands I took from Mom (I like to take jewelry from Mom when she never wears it, bless her), but I’d love a simple strand of black pearls.

One Response to “Pearl necklace! Hand-knotted and gorgeous, Dahling”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart October 21, 2010 at 11:15 pm #

    What a good friend! 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

