I went to a gem show this weekend

18 Oct

All weekend at the local fairgrounds, there was a show. It could have been called “Jaclyn, Come To This.” Instead, it was called the “49th Annual Gem, Mineral, Fossil, Lapidary & Jewelry Show & Sale.”

Yes, please.

Luckily, my beau is as big of a geek as me. He likes him some fossils and, somehow, he wound up spending more than I did.

But my stuff is much prettier:

Little carved pendants! From left: a tiger’s eye elephant, a jade penguin (A JADE PENGUIN!!!), a goldstone star-thing that is interlocked pyramids and an angel of, I think, red and black jade.

From left: A hunk of bismuth, a piece of dalmation jasper, blue lace agate and an Arabic writing stone, or script jasper. I plan to wire-wrap the first three and turn them into some sort of pendant. That fourth stone is just mine. You can’t have it. Sorry.

Two slices of oco geode from Brazil.

Genuine stones of peridot. I want to find one of those little glass bottles with a cork stopper for a pendant.

There were a variety of silent auctions going on throughout the show. When we walked in, one of them was about three minutes from ending. I saw the above green and black stone — chrysocolce from Arizona — and it was only at $1. I, like a moron, had no cash on me. So, like a little girl and her daddy, I ran up to the beau, shared my disturbing simile, and asked, “If I bid on this really cool rock and win, can I have $2?”

Hehe, I won. As I was paying, I saw those awesome pieces of kyanite with no bids and an opening bid of 75 cents. I asked if I could just pay the 75 cents, and the fellow let me. I’m not sure if he was supposed to let me, but they’re mine! Do you think they could work for earrings? They are similar in size, but not at all exact.

Which of my treasures do you like the best? What would you do with some of them?

2 Responses to “I went to a gem show this weekend”

  1. Mary October 18, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    I don’t blame you for keeping that Arabic writing stone. I miiiiiight have gasped out loud as I saw it. 🙂

  2. Suburban Sweetheart October 18, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

    I ADORE gem shows, or I did when I was a kid. I wish I could remember the name of the one we used to go to, it was sort of a funny, kitschy name. Anyway, I was obsessed with bismuth & with amethyst. And peridot is my birth stone; I despise it.

I'd love to hear what you think!

