Breast cancer awareness & a giveaway

14 Oct

Like most any woman, I have a fear of breast cancer. I joke that my Little Girls don’t have enough surface area to get cancer, but it really is a joke. I know if a man can get breast cancer, my 36 A’s certainly can, too.

Plus, I have that added bonus of having it run in my family. My mom is the fourth of five sisters, and her younger sister died of breast cancer in 2005. When Aunt Nancy was diagnosed, the cancer had already spread to the lymph nodes. For those who’ve never dealt with cancer, that’s when serious becomes SERIOUS. She had felt a lump and gone to the doctor months before the diagnosis, but that first doctor took an X-ray and sent her home.

By the time she got a doctor who wasn’t a complete idiot, the cancer was too developed to do much of anything.

Mom (at left) and Aunt Nancy at a cousin's bridal shower in the late '90s.

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Frankly, I consider it an unnecessary month: I think this country is very aware of breast cancer. The Think Pink campaign did wonders for the cause, and yet, people still forget to give themselves breast exams. (Here’s a how-to, courtesy of WebMD.)

A fellow blogger currently waiting to see what’s up with her lumps shares her experiences on her blog, The Mother Load. It’s very eye-opening and honest. And definitely worth a read.

Want to do something but unsure of what to do? To keep it simple, I vote for visiting The Breast Cancer Site and clicking for free mammograms. Second, I vote for looking through the site’s goodie page. There are some beautiful gifts there. I recently bought this necklace for my mom as a just-because gift.

Mom's necklace

A few Christmases ago, I also got Mom and me matching pink shirts from the breast cancer organization at my alma mater, Kent State University. I generally use the tee to sleep in but more than once have forgotten and gone out in public in it. It’s great for a giggle.

My shirt rocks.

Third? Go get a mammogram if you’re due. You should be receiving them yearly if you’re between 50 and 74. If it runs in your family ((waves)), you should start going earlier than 50; talk to your doc to figure out when you should start. Curious about what it’s like? The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention does a pretty good overview.

Or, as my mom says: Imagine putting your bare boob on something cold, like the edge of the refrigerator. Now imagine slamming the door shut.

Great. Thanks, Mom.

I have a lot of these very sweet Hope ribbons left over from a Relay for Life fundraiser over the summer, so I decided to use some to make earrings to raffle off. Want to be entered? Leave a comment and tell me who you’d wear these earrings for. If I get enough entries, I may raffle off two items.

Want to win these? Just leave a comment and tell me who you would wear them for.

I’ll keep the giveaway open  for a week, so leave your comment by midnight Oct. 21. Be sure to include your e-mail address so if random.org picks you as the winner, I can contact you.

And, to repeat, most importantly: If you’re between 50 and 74, go get a mammogram. If breast cancer runs in your family and you’re younger than 50, call your doctor and ask when to start.

12 Responses to “Breast cancer awareness & a giveaway”

  1. Heather October 14, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    I love this entry. Thank you so much for helping spread awareness.

    I would wear these earrings for a friend of a friend who is going through her second round of cancer, I would wear them for Stefanie Spielman (Whose fund we donate to regularly and did so much for breast cancer research and awareness), I would wear them for my aunt who had a mastectomy and I would wear them for EVERY woman (and man) diagnosed with this horrible disease. I would wear them in hope, that one day there will be a cure.

  2. Joyce October 14, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    I’d wear them for all the women (survivors and those we’ve lost) I’ve met through my volunteer work with the American Cancer Society.

  3. Stephanie October 14, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    I would wear it for my mom, my sister and myself to stay proactive and healthy and for all the women and men and families that the disease has affected in some way.

  4. CaseyMarie October 14, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    Swung over from Etsypreneur ;). Such an awesome thing you are doing! Great way to share the awareness.

    If I were to wear anything Breast Cancer Awareness related (including but not limited to your beautiful creations), I would wear them/it for every single woman featured in The Scar Project… http://www.thescarproject.org/ & every woman who wears her scar that is not photographed!!!

    ~CaseyMarie

    PS, tweeted & sharing this on my Tummy Earth Fashions FB page as well as my private profile.

  5. Jennifer Stuart October 14, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    I’d wear them for my aunt Tracie who is a breast cancer survivor!!!

  6. Jen October 15, 2010 at 7:33 am #

    I’d wear these earrings in memory of my grandmother, who I miss all the time.

    Thank you so much for this post!

  7. Kim @ Everything Etsy October 15, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    Wonderful post! Thanks for sharing your family’s story.

    I would love to give this as a gift to my husband’s aunt that’s a survivor! She was in really bad shape and managed to fight it! 🙂

    ~Kim

  8. B October 15, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    I’d wear these for my aunt Missy who is a 5 year survivor. She is also my god-mother and my hero. I have a breast cancer ribbon that says “life” tattoo in her honor.

  9. Adrienne Lenz October 15, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    I would wear them for my dad who is currently battling cancer and about to start Chemo and Radiation next week! Prayer to all!

  10. hunnybunny October 18, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    I popped over here from Facebook to check out what you are doing. What a wonderful giveaway for a great cause. I agree about people being more aware now too, and am sorry for the loss of your aunt Nancy.
    I would wear them in honor of my mother who should be turning 51 tomorrow, but we lost her in 2004 due to complications after her mastectomy.

  11. Heidi P October 21, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    I would give these to my friend Linda who bravely fought and beat (by the grace of God) breast cancer! She is a tremendous inspiration to me in many ways!

  12. Danna BC October 21, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    I’d wear them for my mother-in-law and every other woman who has both suffered from and conquered breast cancer. Great post. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

