Shop Talk: Stampified

13 Oct

I discovered Stampified during an Etsy search for a shop to make me a custom stamp. I did not want to spend a ton of money because I’ve been toying with changing my Etsy shop name. If I was going to get a custom stamp and have it be obsolete in a few months, I didn’t want to spend a fortune.

When I found Stampified, I knew I’d found my shop.

I convo’d her for a price estimate on my goodie: I wanted my shop URL with a small daisy before it. She responded within an hour, quoting me a very reasonable price. We discussed various size possibilities and settled upon my order.

I received my custom stamp quickly, and it was exactly as I wanted.

 

See how perfect?!

 

Stampified is hovering just above the 100-sale mark, an exciting time for any Etsy seller. She agreed to be featured in Snap, Crackle, Pop’s first section of revamped Shop Talks.

Remember these? I asked shops to volunteer and answer a set group of Q&As. They were a great way to feature Etsy shops, but I was not as into it as I wanted to be. This time around, I’m hand picking shops I admire and have some experience with to participate. As such, meet: Stampified, AKA Catherine Raines of Austin, Texas.

How did you become interested in creating your own stamps? Some stamping friends pointed out that there are not many stamps out there that appeal to guys, so I decided to see what I could about that. I researched how print-makers carve stamps and adapted the process to suit the materials I had. My process has morphed a lot over the 1 1/2 years I have been carving. My first hand-carved stamp set was made up of six different vintage cars, which are still available in my shop. I am left-brained creative, which expresses itself in certain logical and orderly ways. For instance, although I can’t imagine an awesome design or creative piece of artwork out of mid-air, I can look at a pattern or a picture and adapt it to use as a template, later carving it with great precision. But I like to follow pre-existing templates and patterns.

 

A 1931 Ford Model A stamp, by Stampified

 

Do you hand-carve all your inventory? Is it time-consuming? I design and carve all my stamps by hand. My process is quite time-consuming, but once I have a basic stamp design, I can re-create those stamps more easily. That’s why custom stamps are more expensive, as they entail the full 8-step process. That process is as follows:

  1. I start with a photograph or receive an image for a custom stamp and then
  2. import it into my drawing program.
  3. With  drawing tools, I trace the original image and
  4. print out the traced version.
  5. I trace the drawing onto tracing paper and
  6. transfer that image onto the rubber.
  7. I then cut away from all around the stamp and
  8. then carve the lines and details of the stamp.
  9. It takes probably three hours to complete that entire process, start to finish. With two small boys, a full-time job and a husband and home to care for, those three hours are hard to fit in!

What does your craft station look like? Our home is not large, and my young boys need room to play, so my “craft station” hides all day in a big, antique, wooden chest (aka coffee table, by day) until the kids go to sleep. Then I quietly pull out my carving tools, prepare any images that need preparing, and carve! I usually sit at our kitchen table; my carving equipment, paperwork, and stamp-testing paraphernalia are very well organized, so I can get them out for use and then put them away again easily.

What is one or two of your favorite items you’ve purchased on Etsy? Tell me about the shop and the item. I’m embarrassed to say I have never bought anything off of Etsy! I have come very close, and if I were to go through with it, here are the shops I would buy from:

  • Any cards from kristinleecards.etsy.com. She has bought at least half of my current stamp inventory, and through our communications, she is a now a great friend! She has an awesome eye for color and arranging, and her cards are appealing and fun. 

    Coffee and bean thank you card by kristinleecards.

  • Any stained glass from brightmoondesigns.etsy.com. The only catch from her store is that it’s my mom’s stained glass store, and she gives me items from the store as gifts sometimes, so I hold out until Christmas or birthdays and hope she’ll bestow a lovely stained glass art piece on me then.

 

A suncatcher by BrightMoonDesigns.

 

What is your goal with Stampified? My goal with my stampified.etsy.com shop is threefold:

  1. To design and carve an inventory of stamps that no other stamp shops offer, for a competitive price;
  2. To specialize in custom stamps, helping customers receive their custom stamp just the way they had envisioned it; and
  3. To provide extra money for our family while doing something fun and creative.

Which stamp at Stampified is your favorite? If you were going to have a custom stamp made, what would it say?

2 Responses to “Shop Talk: Stampified”

  1. Andy Welfle October 13, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    I sorta want something involving a toy robot on a stamp. I’ve been thinking about getting into Letterboxing, which requires a personalized rubberstamp to mark where you’ve visited. I was hoping that could double as a calling card stamp as well. And now I know where to get it done! Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. Kristin Lee Kerpec October 14, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    Thanks for including my card photo! I put your blog posting on my personal Facebook. 🙂

    Kristin Lee

I'd love to hear what you think!

