The wonder of Craftopolis

31 Aug

If you run an Etsy shop, it is likely you have heard of Craftopolis. I don’t remember if a friend showed me the site, or maybe I saw it on Twitter or through the Etsy forums.

The site is essentially a break down of your shop. You enter your shop name, and the site will tell which items have been viewed how many times, which items have received hearts on which days, who has hearted your shop when and what tags people have searched for to find which items.

Through Craftopolis, I know these earrings have had nine hits and one new heart today.

I do realize that graph uses lots of words that may be unfamiliar to people who have little to do with Etsy. If you find a shop you adore, you can “heart” it. This means you will be able to find this shop easily under your hearted shops section. It’s essentially saying “I like this.” If you find an item you adore, you can “heart” it, too.

When I started Etsy, I thought hearts surely would equal a sale. This is not the case. The way hearts do eventually translate into sales is not through the folks who heart the item; they rarely come back to purchase. Instead, the heart-to-purchase correlation appears to work simply like this: If a lot of people like the item, chances are greater that someone will come along and purchase this item. When this happens, the buyer isn’t going to heart the item; she’s going to give me money so I send her the pretty earrings.

Perhaps the most useful tool on Craftopolis is the tag report. Tags are descriptors Etsy lets shop users list when posting each item for sale. A pearl necklace I want to customize for your wedding, I will tag as “pearl,” “necklace,” “bridal,” “custom,” “personalized,” “beaded,” etc. When a bride searches for “custom pearl necklace,” my necklace will pop up. The more recently I listed the item, the closer to the top of the search results it will appear. (To those who browse my shop and wonder why I relist, this is why.)

That means, so far today, I know that someone found this necklace because she searched for ivory, pearl, necklaces. I know someone found this because she searched for the, cuckoo, clock, or this with glass, ballerina, necklace.

This kind of information lets me know what people want. I know that my rock/paper/scissors best friend necklaces get a ton of hits; I relisted them today, and they’ve had 13 views plus one heart, already. (It makes me that much more excited to get those two more charms from South Korea so I can debut my new set of bff necklaces!)

Do you use Craftopolis? What do you like best about the site?

3 Responses to “The wonder of Craftopolis”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart August 31, 2010 at 6:54 pm #

    A) I ADORE this earrings.
    B) This is really cool.
    C) Damn it, I need to open an Etsy shop…

    • Jaclyn August 31, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

      A) Thank you!!
      B) Totally agreed. It just got a revamp, too.
      C) I think you should. Those bracelets looked insanely cool, and I don’t know that I’ve seen a lot like that. Finding a rare niche on Etsy in jewelry is HARD, so you’d definitely have a leg up.

  2. kohakuscorner September 1, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    I tried the Craftopolis site and found it very interesting and informative. Thank you for bringing it to my attention!

I'd love to hear what you think!

