Go see ‘Eat Pray Love’

20 Aug

When I read “Eat, Pray, Love” a few years ago, the book solidified my determination to visit Italy with a girl friend in my 20s.

When I saw “Eat Pray Love” a few days ago, the movie created a new determination: I want to go to Bali with the beau. I got home from my girldate, called him and said, “You need to take me to Bali. They have terrorists, so it’s super cheap.” I really know how to sell a vacation.

Reader, meet Bali. Bali, reader.

I went into the flick expecting to like it. Not only was the book incredibly well done, but all the terrible movie reviews couldn’t actually point out what made the movie so terrible. They threw out words like “navel-gazing” a lot, but I think that’s just code for “She’s richer than I am, and I wish I could afford to take a year and travel the world.”

I see a very distinct difference between a good movie and an enjoyable one.

  • The ideal movie will be both well done and enjoyable, but we can’t all be “The Godfather.”
  • Sometimes, we get well done but forget to make the flick entertaining. I’ve never seen it, but despite the fact that it won the best picture and eight other Oscars, I hear “The English Patient” was mind-numbing.
  • Or we forget to make the movie worth any bit of entertainment or talent: “The Informant” might be the worst movie I’ve ever had the displeasure of sitting through — wildly, mind-numbingly boring. I left the theater caring so very little for the characters, if they had been crumbled in the theater hallway being eaten by a pack of rabid parrots, I wouldn’t have minded.

That leaves the fourth category: Movies that won’t be nominated for any awards, but no one cares because they’re so much fun. “Eat Pray Love” certainly is on the better end of this category. Aside from good performances and breath-taking scenery, the movie is a joy to watch. Why?

  1. Julia Roberts. In every bad review I’ve read, no one can deny her talent or likability.  America’s sweetheart indeed.
  2. Javier Bardem. He’s what a man should be: handsome, rugged, hesitant and weepy when his grown son has to leave at the end of a visit. His only flaw? In one scene when he and Roberts’ Liz Gilbert are reading, he puts on music and takes her hands to dance. First, he removes the book from her grasp. And he … dog ears … a page. ((shudder)) BOOK MARKS, MAN.
  3. The scenery. I love to travel. I want to see everything. Gilbert’s time in Bali, surprisingly, made for the loveliest scenes to watch. Bali has beautiful beaches, lovely apartments and people you want to sit and drink coffee with.

Have you seen it yet? Tell me what you thought!

2 Responses to “Go see ‘Eat Pray Love’”

  1. Mary Manning August 21, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    There’s a very short article in the newest issue of Time (the one about Islamophobia) about how the book (and in some cases, book-inspired tours) are changing tourism in Bali.

  2. Liz August 22, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    I want to see it.

I'd love to hear what you think!

