Joey’s Auction 27: Knit cowl and beret

10 Aug

Meet Alisha in Ohio.

What: A handknit Star Crossed Slouchy beret in the winner’s choice of color and a Burberry-inspired cowl to match. I prefer to knit these in Malabrigo Worsted, as it is super soft, warm and absolutely gorgeous. Malabrigo Worsted is a “hand-dyed incredibly soft 100 percent Merino wool with the subtle variations in color and texture only hand dyed yarns have. Pure Merino comes from a small family-run company in Uruguay,” according to Ravelry. However, if the winning bidder prefers a different fiber, we can work that out. I will contact the winner regarding their color choice and purchase brand new skeins to knit from.

How long: I have always been crafty, but I started crocheting in early 2008 and got my hands on knitting needles in September 2008. Haven’t been able to take them away from me since! I also dabble in sewing.

Where: This is strictly a hobby as of now. I tend to enjoy knitting and creating whatever strikes my fancy. I’ve gotten to the point where I am *almost* a selfish knitter. The hard work and patience it takes to make a handknit garment or accessory is often underappreciated. In most cases now, I enjoy teaching others how to knit. If a friend or family members asks me to make them something, I gladly offer to teach them how to make it themselves instead! It’s worked out quite well so far. I also blog and tweet.

Why: I’ve known Jaclyn since the sixth grade (OMG It’s been THAT long?!), and she’s called me an old soul, just like her. Plus, I just ❤ her to pieces and think she is just the bee’s knees! Plus, for those friends and family that have begged me to make them this combination (which I have declined) and refused to learn with my teaching — here is their chance to get a hand-knit piece by me, in addition to raising money for an amazing school!

This auction will be open until 11.59 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 12. Each day through the 14th, I will post two to three auctions. If you like the item up for grabs, place your bid in the comments, and be sure to leave your e-mail address so I can contact you should you win. Each item will be a separate post, and each post will indicate when that particular auction is over.

Want more details about Joey’s Auction? Click here.

13 Responses to “Joey’s Auction 27: Knit cowl and beret”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart August 10, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    Oh my God. YES. $7 to start.

  2. Stephanie August 10, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    $12

  3. stephanie cantu August 11, 2010 at 5:37 am #

    15$

  4. Genevieve August 11, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    $18

  5. Stephanie August 11, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    $20

  6. Annie August 11, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    $25 🙂

  7. Stephanie August 11, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    Alisha….friendships may be torn apart because I was a bad knitting student and now I want these and am willing to throw-down for them! I started two scarves but I never figured out how to cast off!!!

    I’m raising it to $30….bring it on beret and cowl lovers!!!!

  8. Alisha in Ohio August 11, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    OMG! OMG!

    It IS for a good cause though right… so I can’t fully dissaprove of the bid war going on 🙂

    Plus, think of the bargain! The burberry cowl is $750!

    (and to cast off- here’s a good video tutorial: http://www.knittinghelp.com/videos/casting-off )

  9. Suburban Sweetheart August 11, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    Ughhh, wish I could afford to throw down more.

  10. stephanie cantu August 12, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    I just really think that needs to come to Hollywood. $35

  11. Becky Garver August 12, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    $36!

  12. Stephanie August 12, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    I still have a few hours, but $40….

  13. Snap, Crackle, Pop August 13, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    Auction closed.

I'd love to hear what you think!

