Joey’s Auction 17: Italian cookies

6 Aug

Meet Ann Tortorello, of Country Side, Ill. — or, as I call her, Aunt Annie. These cookies are a family staple — especially on Christmas eve — and, frankly, I had to remind myself not to call them “Aunt Annie’s cookies” in the subject line for this post.

What: One batch of Italian cookies. This is a cookie receipe that has been in the family for years. I remember my grandmother making these cookies, and trays of cookies would be every where: tables, beds. There was no counter space in the ’50s. When I married Uncle Billy, his family actually had a recipe that was written down. Back then, when your grandparents died, most of the recipes went with them. I remember asking my mother for a recipe, and it was always “a pinch of this” and “a handful of that,” so you had to watch when they cooked. I was a young teenager when my Nani Passi died, so I was grateful to see that my mother-in-law had the recipe written down.

This is what a typical Christmas eve dessert spread looks like for our family. And this is just Aunt Annie's cookies -- it doesn't include the other goodies out-of-frame. Yeah, we Italians know how to eat.

How long: I have been making these cookies for 35 years

Where: We sold these cookies in our deli when it was open in the ’90s. Big hit!

Where: I’m on Facebook. My daughter put me there, and I don’t know how it works.

Why: Because I love Joey, and I think this is a great way to help Elim and do something special for his 21st birthday.

This auction will be open until 11.59 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 8. Each day through the 14th, I will post two to three auctions. If you like the item up for grabs, place your bid in the comments, and be sure to leave your e-mail address so I can contact you should you win. Each item will be a separate post, and each post will indicate when that particular auction is over.

Want more details about Joey’s Auction? Click here. In addition to your bid, be sure to leave what color you’d like your bracelet to be should you win!

4 Responses to “Joey’s Auction 17: Italian cookies”

  1. Bill Tortorello August 6, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    I need a good pick-me-up before golfing and these are perfect to handle on the way to the course. So I’ll open the bidding with a $10.00 bid.

  2. Ami August 6, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    $15.00

  3. Bill Tortorello August 7, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    He just beat me on the golf course, now it’s time for revenge. I bid $17.50.

  4. Snap, Crackle, Pop August 9, 2010 at 12:25 am #

    Auction closed.

I'd love to hear what you think!

