Joey’s Auction 6: Hand-knit slippers

3 Aug

Meet Lara Neel, of Fort Wayne, Ind.

What: Felted wool slippers, in a women’s medium size. These are knit with bulky wool and then run through a washer and dryer to shrink them. The result is fluffy, comfy slippers that don’t get smelly — wool resists capturing odors. The pattern is free and available on The Journal Gazette’s Crafty Living blog. (Note from Snap, Crackle, Pop: I tried these on with my monster size 10s, and my heel JUST hung off the edge. I’d say if you’re in the neighborhood of size 7 1/2 to 9 1/2, you’ll be A-OK with these.)

How long: I learned to knit when I was 6 then stopped after a few years. I re-learned 11 years ago and haven’t looked back.

Where: I blog and podcast on The Journal Gazette’s Crafty Living site under Math4Knitters. My co-conspirator and I are on Facebook as JG Crafty Living, Twitter as jgcraftyliving and Ravelry as Math4Knitters.

Why: I like to be helpful when I can. If it gives me an excuse to buy yarn, all the better.

This auction will be open until 11.59 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 5. Each day through the 14th, I will post two to three auctions. If you like the item up for grabs, place your bid in the comments, and be sure to leave your e-mail address so I can contact you should you win. Each item will be a separate post, and each post will indicate when that particular auction is over.

Want more details about Joey’s Auction? Click here.

4 Responses to “Joey’s Auction 6: Hand-knit slippers”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart August 3, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    Oooh, I WANT. $5.00 to start.

  2. Mary August 4, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    $7!

  3. Angie August 4, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    $8!

  4. Snap, Crackle, Pop August 6, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    Auction closed.

I'd love to hear what you think!

