Joey’s Auction 5: Typewriter collage

2 Aug

Meet Katie, from Cleveland!

What: This is a 5×5-inch collage on canvas that is made with vintage ephemera, including the sample piece of stitched fabric that came with a vintage sewing machine, an old Remington typewriter ad from the pages of National Geographic and bits and pieces from learn-to-spell letters and old flashcards. The piece, called “Ink” is all about the beauty of words and the power of creating and telling our own stories.

How long: I’ve been making collages for about a year and a half or so.

Where: I have a blog, Letter Bird Art.

Why did you agree to donate?: Because I love the idea of art making a difference in the world — and I think this is a great cause!

This auction will be open until 11.59 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 4. Each day through the 14th, I will post two to three auctions. If you like the item up for grabs, place your bid in the comments, and be sure to leave your e-mail address so I can contact you should you win. Each item will be a separate post, and each post will indicate when that particular auction is over.

Want more details about Joey’s Auction? Click here.

4 Responses to “Joey’s Auction 5: Typewriter collage”

  1. Mary August 3, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    I’ll say $3!

  2. Denise August 3, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    Interesting piece of art! Great gift someone who writes. I’ll pay $8.00!

  3. Jeff August 4, 2010 at 9:01 pm #

    I will pay $15. Oh, how I yearn for those days of using a manual Underwood typewriter.

  4. Snap, Crackle, Pop August 5, 2010 at 8:14 am #

    Auction closed.

I'd love to hear what you think!

