If you don’t want it hidden, nail it down around Joey

14 Jun

When I went home last month, by the time I left, I worried that I’d lost my mind.

“Mom, have you seen my jean jacket?”

“Isn’t it by the front door?”

“I thought so, too, but I don’t see it.”

We proceeded to look everywhere we could think — maybe I’d hung it up? maybe I’d left it in the spare room? maybe it was under the bed? maybe it was still in the car? — but turned up no coat. I swore I remembered bringing it in when I arrived that Friday, and Mom swears she remembers seeing it.

Has anyone seen my avocados?

Alas, no coat.

Later that week, I got an e-mail from Mom with the subject “found it”:

I found the jean jacket…..it was in Joeys drawer…..with a pair of worn shorts of his……

Can’t leave anything around with him

You see, Joey has taken to hiding and/or rearranging things. He takes vases for a walk, grouping them in the center of a table. He lines all Mom’s figurines in a row on the curio cabinet … and then on the fire place … and then on an end table. He’ll take the vacuum cleaners and line them up by the front door. If it’s not nailed down, as of late, Joey will move it.

I was home again this weekend. I got my jacket and immediately put it in my bag so it didn’t walk off again. But Joey was nowhere near being done.

Sunday, I was on the deck with Dad and the beau. Mom stuck her head out the door and said, “I can’t believe I’m asking this, but has anyone seen my avocados?”

Dad and I both had. They had been on the counter.

“They’re gone,” Mom says.

I went in and helped her look for them. Checked the silverware drawer and the cabinet with the plates. Checked the shelf with the spices and the refrigerator.

“Joey, where’d you put the avocados?” I asked him, and he grabbed me by the hand and dragged me into my parents’ room. He pointed to my mom’s purse.

No, they weren’t in there.

We never did find the avocados. We hope he threw them out, because otherwise, Mom’s in for a very stinky surprise in about a week or two.

3 Responses to “If you don’t want it hidden, nail it down around Joey”

  1. Joyce June 14, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    Such a cute story.

  2. Michelle June 15, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    I love Joey stories. ❤

  3. Dana June 15, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    Oh dear. hahaha!

I'd love to hear what you think!

