The proud bibliophile

1 Jun

I have a weird thing with books: I like to keep them pristine. Similarly, I want everyone to read all the books I love. This means I’m very generous with loaning out books in my library … but you’re going to get The Rules first.

This bookmark is by paperplanet. I've purchased two others from this seller. She's super friendly and makes beautiful paper crafts, don't you think?

  1. Do not break my binding. Junior year of high school, a friend and I were going over “The Grapes of Wrath” for class. He grabbed my book and broke the binding. The thought of this still makes me shudder.
  2. Do not write in my book. This might make my love of used books odd, as many will have writing. This doesn’t bother me. I find reading others’ notes to be kind of interesting, like I’m taking a peak into history. However, I do not like to add to this history. Similarly, do not write in YOUR book. Makes me twitch.
  3. Do not judge me when I take an old book — or even a new book — and stick my nose in it while I flip through the pages. Books smell amazing. (One of my early “humina, humina” moments with the beau was when he said “Well, yeah,” when I told him I like to sniff books. It was as if I said, “The sky is blue.”)
  4. Do not dogear pages. Bookmarks are everywhere: napkins, receipts, menus. Hell, tear off a piece of your shirt and stick it in the book, but stop putting creases in your … erm … my book!

I based a new Etsy treasury on this last rule of mine. The treasury is full of awesome bookmarks of all shapes, sizes and designs.

Even better? They make dogearring pages completely unnecessary.

(It would appear I cannot stick links in captions, but be sure you check out paperplanet’s shop.)

One Response to “The proud bibliophile”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart June 1, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    What’s funny is that I feel like books are only mine – read, loved & lived – if they’re a little bit abused.

    Guess we won’t be trading? πŸ™‚

I'd love to hear what you think!

