How ‘Miranda’ fits into my Etsy shop

1 Jun

I’ve recently been trying something … new, I think, is the appropriate word … with the greeting on my Etsy shop announcement.

Perhaps “strange” would be a better word. Or “hella lame,” I’m not sure.

I recently read an Etsy forum post about tips to increase the number of shoppers and browsers to your Etsy shop. Many of these advice bits are the same, but I saw something new on this particular post. The idea was to work some of the trending searches into your shop greeting. Google Trends keeps track of the hottest searches on the site. So the idea is to work some of those into the short announcement so your shop comes up in those searches.

It’s worth a try, I thought.

My first few “new and ‘improved'” shop announcements all dealt with the weather:

  • Jaclyn1423 jewelry: Keeping it hot, like Orlando (for the Orlando Magic, who lost to the Boston Celtics last week and won’t be advancing to the NBA championship round)
  • Jaclyn1423: Everything’s coming up rosie (for Rosie Huntington-Whiteley, the Victoria’s Secret model who’s replacing Megan Fox in the third “Transformers” movie)
  • When the mercury’s high, stay cool with Jaclyn1423 (for the talk of Ford eliminating the Mercury car)
  • Jaclyn1423: For a hurricane of sparkling proportions (because “hurricane season” is trending)

Will this work? I have no idea. But I find the idea humorous.

Here are the 10 searches trending now, at not quite 9 p.m. Tuesday.

1. israeli raid
2. stanley cup
3. al tipper gore
4. chicago blackhawks
5. gary coleman
6. dontrelle willis
7. ted koppel
8. soderling
9. miranda
10. dennis hopper

I have no idea if that “miranda” is referring to the “Sex and the City” character, but I’m going to guess it is and go with: Jaclyn1423: Because I’m a Miranda & you should be, too

What kind of short tagline would you write for me based on that top 10 list?

3 Responses to “How ‘Miranda’ fits into my Etsy shop”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart June 1, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    Jaclyn1423 Jewelry: It’s what Willis was talkin’ ’bout.

    (Get it? It’s ABOUT Gary Coleman, but it has Willis in it… like Dontrelle Willis… so it’ll still show up in some of those tweets…)

    OK, I suck at this. Ha.

  2. Snap, Crackle, Pop June 1, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    That is OUTstanding.

  3. Dana June 3, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    I think it’s brilliant, Suburban!
    Overall, this advice seems a little wonky to me. If these are the most buzzworthy topics, that means lots of websites are covering them. I can’t imagine an Etsy shop is going to be high enough in the search engines for anyone to even notice. Wouldn’t it be on like page 34 below all the news blogs covering the topic?
    Or if searchers do notice, what are the chances that they are both interested in the Chicago Blackhawks AND buying jewelry?
    That being said, I think it’s hella fun regardless of whether or not it garners more hits. It gives your Etsy site personality and makes the customer feel a connection with you.

I'd love to hear what you think!

