Pictures, pictures, pictures!

11 May

One of the toughest things about selling on Etsy? Taking good photos. It can be very difficult to showcase the true beauty of a piece of jewelry in a photo — especially when you’re not a photographer.

These necklaces are all long enough to serve as double-stranded anklets, too.

Like this gal.

These three beaded necklaces have been in my shop since the very beginning. This is probably the final time I will relist them. However, this is also the third batch of photos I’ve gone through. They FINALLY look pretty.

I think.

These necklaces are all single-strand and beaded. This doesn’t make them as interestingly designed as some of the other necklaces you can find in my shop; however, I do like the contrast of colors, materials and textures here.

There’s definitely something to be said for simplicity.

I think this may be one of my favorite photos in my entire shop.

4 Responses to “Pictures, pictures, pictures!”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart May 12, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    Oh, I love that second photo! One of the reasons I haven’t started an Etsy shop of my own yet is that A) I’m afraid no one will buy anything, & B) I can’t take pictures well enough! Srsly.

  2. Sixthirtythree December 4, 2010 at 1:01 am #

    How do Etsians take such wonderful pictures? I have tried with my digital and the picture is horrible and blurry.

    • Jaclyn December 4, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

      Interesting angles are always good. I like to take my images outside, but during the winter, when it’s dark when I get home, it’s difficult. I recently made myself a light box, and it’s been wonderful. I definitely recommend one!

I'd love to hear what you think!

