I lied. Forgive me. But I ain’t eatin’ that.

28 Apr

I recently bragged about my adventurous eating habits, how I’m a “try anything once” kind of gal. Now, for the first time in 27 years, I have found something I WILL NOT eat.

A coworker is writing about bizarre (for our culture, at least) foods, and she passed on this link to me. If you’re easily grossed out, don’t click on it. I’ll give you a run down: It’s an egg. That’s partially fertilized. It crunches. You sip it out. In the below bit taken from Wikipedia, the italics parts are my own comments:

Popularly believed to be an aphrodisiac (um, hello most unsexy thing ever) and considered a high-protein, hearty snack, balut are mostly sold by street vendors in the regions where they are available. It is commonly sold as streetfood in the Philippines. They are common (common??), everyday food in some other countries in Southeast Asia, such as in Laos (where it is called Khai Luk), Cambodia (Pong tea khon in Cambodian), and Vietnam (Trứng vịt lộn or Hột vịt lộn in Vietnamese). They are often served with (ridiculous, copious, blinding amounts of) beer.

All together now: WTF EWWWWWWWWWWWWW.

I'd love to hear what you think!

