Fill in the Blank Friday: Music edition

23 Apr

One song that always takes me back to my youth is oh wow, there are lots of these. Anything Boyz II men, for one. “II” was the first CD I ever owned — it was a gift one Christmas, along with  Melissa Etheridge’s “Yes I am.” “Private Dancer” and “What’s Love Got to do With It” take me back to reeeally young days when I used to wait for my mom to get home from work at like 11 p.m., and I’d watch MTV with her in her lap.

My first concert ever was Joan Jett at the Taste of Cleveland freshman year of college. I marveled how the 40something woman looked so amazing in skin-tight leather.

If I could create my dream music festival I’d want these bands to be there: Oooh! John Mayer, Jason Mraz, Oasis, BB King, Norah Jones, Alicia Keys, Adele.

The best make-out/”boot knocking” song ever is “I Want You (She’s So Heavy)” by The Beatles and Sigur Ros’ entire “()”

The best concert I’ve ever been to was Probably Jason Mraz senior year of college. We stood very close to the stage, and Toca totally waved to me.

A memorable musical moment for me was cleaning my room when I lived in Kent the summer before junior year. Akinyele’s “Put It In My Mouth” came on, and my two roomie’s wandered in the room. The three of us stood there, singing to one another. When the song finished, they left, and I resumed cleaning.

The song on my iPod that’s getting the most play these days is I don’t have an iPod. Suck on that, World!
Please, share some of your fill-in-the-blank answers!
I'd love to hear what you think!

