A different kind of personality test: Nom nom nom

21 Apr

On a list of The Great Loves of Jaclyn’s Life, “eating” would certainly be near the top.

You’ll note I did not choose “food.” It was almost a toss-up; however, the process of eating, of feeling the texture of food in your mouth, of laughter and conversation over meals, of sipping a brightly colored martini pre-nosh — it far surpasses the simple idea of “food.”

Holy mother of Spam, have you ever tried writing with a touch mouse in Paintbrush??

This is not to say I’m a gorger. I’m not, really. I tend to stop eating when I’m full, but I am an adventurous eater. I’ve yet to meet a food I won’t at least try. Case in point: The chocolate chip-cicada cookies I tried for my internship. So not even kidding.

I just stumbled upon a book called “Food Women and God: An Unexpected Path to Almost Everything.” A helluva title, for sure. In browsing the description, I came across this gem:

The way you eat is inseparable from your core beliefs about being alive. Your relationship with food is an exact mirror of your feelings about love, fear, anger, meaning, transformation and, yes, even God.

How interesting! It made me think about my own relationship with food and how that might relate to life, and I find myself proving the somewhat bizarre hypothesis. My eating would suggest I’m an adventurous, try-anything-once person who likes variety but keeps going back to the truly fabulous things. I’ll spend a little too much for something that’s a little too good, and I really really really want to share. But maybe only a bite.

What do you think your eating says about you? Does that description actually fit your personality?

One Response to “A different kind of personality test: Nom nom nom”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I lied. Forgive me. But I ain’t eatin’ that. « Snap, Crackle, Pop - April 28, 2010

    […] 28, 2010 at 5:35 pm (Miscellaneous, Uncategorized) I recently bragged about my adventurous eating habits, how I’m a “try anything once” kind of gal. […]

I'd love to hear what you think!

