Others’ top 10 flicks of 2009

4 Jan

There are few better ways to entertain oneself for $8.50 than going to a theater. With that thought in mind, I tend to choose friends who are similiarly minded.

I asked a few of them to rank their favorite flicks of last year. Here’s what they had to say. Do me a favor, if you are so inclined? Leave your favorites in the comments.

Steve, the Illinois sports journalist, says:

10) “Adventureland”
9) “Sugar”
8 ) “Food, Inc.”
7) “Inglourious Basterds”
6) “The Hangover”
5) “Goodbye Solo”
4) “The Cove”
3) “(500) Days of Summer”
2) “The Hurt Locker
1) “Up in the Air”

Dana, the Ohio copyeditor says:

10) “Star Trek”
9) “Avatar”
8 ) “Funny People” — (Jac says: This was one of my least favorite movies all year. I asked Dana to explain why the heck she liked it. She says:

“Perhaps ‘Funny People’s’ biggest flaw was its title. It, in conjunction with its marketing campagin, misled audiences to believe that it was a comedy. It was not. It was a drama in which the main characters were comedians. Comedians: those people who you think would be a blast at a party. They’re not. Like artists, most draw their material from angst and conflict. This is a behind-the-scenes glimpse at all the crap that happens to produce those 90-minute schmaltzy romps that make us all feel so good. This is why I liked it. I love comedies, and this made comedians feel more real than anything I have ever seen. Unlike their films, everything isn’t laugh-worthy and does not get tied up neatly. I found it immensely relatable in this way. I have to watch it again, but after one viewing in the theater, it has stayed with me in a way that made me want to defend it against people who disliked it because it wasn’t funny. I thought it was clear that humor was never its primary intention, and that’s what I liked about it.”)

7) “Up”
6) “Taken”
5) “Observe and Report”
4) “Paranormal Activity”
3) “The Hangover”
2) “(500) Days of Summer”
1) Zombieland

Jake, the Ohio college freshman who wants to go into movies but hasn’t seen very many this year, probably because he’s in college, says:

7) “Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen”
6) “The Proposal”
5) “Sherlock Holmes”
4) “The Hangover”
3) “Taken”
2) “The Blind Side”
1) “Inglourious Basterds”

Brett, the Ohio aspiring rock star who left me in a roomful of Bibles after “Paranormal Activity,” says

10) “Watchmen”
9) “Star Trek”
8 ) “Drag Me to Hell”
7) “Zombieland”
6) “Up”
5) “I Love You Man”
4) “The Hangover”
3) “District 9”
2)  Paranormal Activity (Jac says: Damn skippy)
1) “Inglourious Basterds”

4 Responses to “Others’ top 10 flicks of 2009”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart January 4, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

    My votes, in no order at all:
    – “Inglourious Basterds”
    – “Up In the Air”
    – “(500) Days of Summer”
    – “A Serious Man”
    – “State of Play”
    – “The Blind Side”

    I just read through a massive & seemingly comprehensive list of movies released in 2009 (http://www.wildaboutmovies.com/movies/2009Movies-2009MoviesInMovieTheaters-2009MovieReleases.php) & these were the ONLY ones I saw, except for five others that I didn’t really like much. And I guess I could put the new Harry Potter flick on here, because I bought it & like it more now, and “Sunshine Cleaning,” which I liked but didn’t adore.

    2009, a year of movies I didn’t love. I feel like a cheater, because I saw two of the movies on my list in the same day – and just two weeks ago! Hmmm.

    Here’s to a cinematically superior 2010.

  2. Rob January 4, 2010 at 11:21 pm #

    I only went to see 11 movies this year (consequence of having a litter of pups), about half of the films were of the kids’ variety (another consequence), but here’s my ranking of those 11 from worst to first.

    Public Enemies – No explanation, just never got behind it.
    Monsters Vs. Aliens – booooooooooooooooo.
    The Soloist – Swing and a miss.
    Ice Age 3 – Meh.
    The Blind Side – If I hadn’t read the book first, this would be higher. The fight scene at the end was so out of place, it made me want to punch something.
    Sherlock Holmes – Surprisingly close to authentic Sherlock, only with more fighting and special effects.
    Up – Great start, lost me toward the end.
    Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs – Most fun I’ve ever had at the theater. Not kidding.
    The Hangover – Superb comedy.
    Precious – I left wanting to kill myself, but in a good way, if that makes sense.

  3. Brett January 5, 2010 at 1:55 am #

    Okay I just saw Avatar tonight and that trumps them all off my list. It may not technically be as good of a movie as Inglourious Basterds but I haven’t enjoyed myself that much in the theatre EVER. Bravo James Cameron, bravo.

  4. Dana January 5, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    OK, saw Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs last night. Expected nothing. Now I’m dabbling putting it on my faves list. Shocked at how funny it was. Given that I’m super annoyed by the villain subplot in Up, it MIGHT bump it off the list. Might. Still pondering. Should watch Up again soon.
    Also thanks for changing my “they’re” to “their.” That was making my eye twitch from the moment I clicked send on that e-mail.

I'd love to hear what you think!

