I think I have a new favorite blog …

14 Dec

… and I’ve only read two posts of it.

The blog would be the Los Angeles Times entertainment blog, Hero Complex. Sorry it isn’t one more interesting and underground, but two posts have made me bookmark this bad boy:

No. 1: An ode to “The Big Bang Theory” and all of its scientific glory. If you were unaware, I’m going to marry Raj, and Sheldon will live above the garage. I am aware that this means my husband will have to be drunk the whole of our relationship, but just think: If I ever want him to shut up, I can just hide the alcohol. Also worth mentioning: Check out that pic of Johnny Galecki and Jim Parson. They’re both so cute! BBT does a good job of making them both sort of anti-sexual, but I do love me a sexy nerd.

No. 2, and more importantly: This interview with Leonard Nimoy.

Here’s what I learned and loved in said very long blog post:

  • On the campaign trail, Barack Obama gave Nimoy the Vulcan salute. I can’t imagine how frickin’ awesome that was. Yeah yeah, Nimoy probably gets that greeting 8 million times a day, but from the future president? Love it.
  • Nimoy really drinks Earl Grey. The only reason I know his character does is because of my dad, an avid Star Trek lover. Earl Grey is his favorite, too, and he asks for it the same way Spock does: “Earl Grey. Hot.”
  • He taught me that attractive women were once-upon-a-time referred to as a cute tomato. I think I would be putty in someone’s hands if he called me a cute tomato. Best compliment ever.
  • I think I need to see all the Star Trek movies. It really was only a matter of time. The very first movie I ever saw in a theater was Star Trek. Wikipedia lists “The Voyage Home” as a 1986 release. That would have made me at 3-years-old, about right. My dad took me. I fell asleep. In my chair. Upside down. Like, head hanging off the seat, legs propped up on the seat back. This past summer, we saw “Star Trek.” I was 26. I did not fall asleep, and I stayed upright in my chair the whole time. I loved it.

It’s so time to see the rest of the movies. Now, shall I marathon it or piece them together, here and there?

2 Responses to “I think I have a new favorite blog …”

  1. Andy December 16, 2009 at 11:01 pm #

    This is a great list! A few Star Trekual additions:

    • One of the best Star Trek characters evar, Captain Picard, drinks Earl Grey, too. Have you ever seen The Next Generation? I think you would like Captain Picard.

    • You should definitely watch the Star Trek movies! But only in order. They don’t make a lot of sense otherwise. If you needed a guide through the Star Trek universe, I’m your man. Well, I bet Penhollow could do it too. I think he’s Family.

  2. Andy December 16, 2009 at 11:04 pm #

    Oh, and I’m pretty sure Zennie doesn’t watch Star Trek. He’s pretty much a philistine.

I'd love to hear what you think!

