Third time’s a charm with these amazing blueberry beads

19 Oct

My very first Etsy supply purchase was from Glass Addictions, the shop I wrote about a few days ago for mentioning me in her blog.

The  purchase was five handmade glass beads. They’re a blueberry color with swirls of sparkling gold. I saw them and knew I’d buy them. One of those beads  has become a simple pendant. I added some small glass pearls, attached a loop and wear it on a 14k gold chain. Three other of the beads became a much more detailed necklace, with small blueberry quartz beads and other champagne-colored glass pearls, finished with a sterling silver lobster clasp.

These earrings are 3 1/2 inches long and very delicate.

These earrings are 3 1/2 inches long and very delicate.

The final two, I had made into earrings to match the more detailed necklace. I used sterling silver ear wires. They were very pretty, but I wasn’t sure if I should keep them or sell them. I never really liked them that much, and they kind of sat around. Over the weekend, I tore those earrings apart. I paired the beads with with some tear-drop shaped blueberry quartz. I used antiquated silver-toned findings and a few glass spacer beads.

The outcome was better, but still not right.

I just tore those second pair of earrings apart, again. I switched to gold-toned findings, and I flopped the glass beads, putting the quartz on top, allowing the handmade beauties to anchor the earrings. I used 14k gold-plated earwire, the kind with an amethyst Swarovski detail. I used a few shiny gold-toned spacers.

And, finally, the earrings are right, and listed over at Jaclyn1423.

One Response to “Third time’s a charm with these amazing blueberry beads”

  1. Tess October 21, 2009 at 5:25 am #

    the trials and tribulations of jewellery design – sounds familiar, but it was worth persevering – they are fabulous!

    * * *

    SNAP, CRACKLE, POP SAYS: Thank you so much, Tess!

I'd love to hear what you think!

