Shop Talk: Two-for-one!

16 Oct

This edition of Shop Talk is going to switch things up a little bit. This time, you get two-for-one! Miss B’s Boutique, which offers notecards and jewelry, and The Supply House — which  has jewelry supplies, notepads and bags — are run by a mother/daughter team.

“I (Adia, daughter), do all the pics and listings for both stores and a lot of the jewelry. My Mom (Laurene) does all the sewing for both stores, all the papercraft and some of the jewelry pieces as well. But yes, we are both involved in both shops,” Adia writes.

Read on to learn more!

(This Q&A is answered by Adia)

Meet happy mom Laurene and the cute-as-a-bug Adia, circa 1984. Adia writes, "Believe it or not, this is the only picture we've got of the two of us together without anyone else where we are in focus, both paying attention and smiling (well, Mom at least!).

Meet happy mom Laurene and the cute-as-a-bug Adia, circa 1984. Adia writes, "Believe it or not, this is the only picture we've got of the two of us together without anyone else where we are in focus, both paying attention and smiling (well, Mom at least!).

Name: Adia & Laurene, daughter and mother

Hometown: Seattle, Wash. and  Honolulu Hawaii

Shop names: Miss B’s Boutique and The Supply House

Is there any meaning behind the name of your shops? Well, Miss B’s Boutique sort of got its name from my boyfriend. His nickname for me is “Miss B” because my last name starts with a B. After much debate, I decided that our first venture would be “Miss B’s Boutique.” Plus, I wanted to keep our shop name neutral so that we could sell a variety of product without contradicting our business name.  As for The Supply House, my 9-to-5 is with a distributing company, and we often will talk about our “supply houses.” I guess I just thought it had a nice ring to it!

When did you join Etsy? I originally joined Etsy back in November ’08 under a different user name to purchase a gift for my boyfriend’s sister. We opened Miss B’s this past spring and The Supply House during the summer.

How did you get started with your shops? Well, after a long “crafting absence,” I started making jewelry for gifts to friends last December, and I started to realize how much I missed being able to do something creative with my brain and my hands. So, after a few months and A LOT of research, I decided I may as well try selling some of my “wares” on Etsy. A few weeks after I started, my Mom (a lifelong crafter) joined me. This has been a really nice project for the two of us to work on together. With our two different styles and a variety of products, we really cover a broad demographic of potential customers.

Tell me about one of your favorite items that have been or is currently up for sale on Etsy. I love these potholders that Mom makes. They make the greatest gifts! Every year, she takes on a “Holiday Project,” and she makes a bunch of the same item but in different colors or patterns as gifts for all of her friends; it’s always something different than before. One of these past years, it was this awesome potholder. She’s done ornaments, origami, earrings, quilted coasters, etc. I actually have one of these in my own kitchen, and I love it because its a nice functional decoration.

Adia loves these potholders that her mom makes.

Adia loves these potholders that her mom makes.

What is your favorite item you’ve purchased on Etsy? Oohhh… that’s a tough one. There are so many great products on Etsy. I honestly love everything I’ve bought on Etsy thus far. I’ve bought a few gifts and a few things for myself under both of my shop names. I bought this bag as a birthday gift for myself by minus, and I LOVE it because it’s super versatile. I actually bought it in charcoal, not the black shown. The fabric is really soft to the touch, but you can feel that it’s a nice, durable, strong cloth. I recently spent a week in San Francisco on vacation, and I lived out of this thing! It’s much roomier than you first imagine, and there are pockets inside for your phone and whatnot and also a zipped top to keep everything secure and dry. The seller was a great pleasure to work with as well. His work is absolutely fantastic.

What is the coolest compliment you’ve gotten for something in your shop? I love it anytime a customer takes the time to leave some feedback or drop me an e-mail telling me that they love their purchase. It really means a lot to me to know that people are enjoying our products as much as we enjoyed making them.

Last time: Page Pottery
Next time:  Tucancreations

2 Responses to “Shop Talk: Two-for-one!”

  1. Adia October 18, 2009 at 1:01 pm #

    Thanks so much for the feature Jaclyn! You are a pleasure to work with… 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shop Talk: Tucancreations « Snap, Crackle, Pop - October 21, 2009

    […] time: Miss B’s Boutique and The Supply House Next time: paintingsbyjude Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Shop Talk: Cutie […]

I'd love to hear what you think!

