Shop Talk: HellsBellesJewelry

5 Oct

Welcome to another edition of Shop Talk, brought to you by Jaclyn1423! Today, meet HellsBellesJewelry.

Name: Helen

Location: Northwest New Jersey

Starry Night bracelet

Starry Night bracelet

Shop name: HellsBellesJewelry. I searched for a name for a long time and used my initials for a while. When I decided to open my Etsy shop, I felt I needed something more unique. There were many choices, but my husband really liked Hells Belles and campaigned for that choice.

How did you get started with your shop? I’ve been making jewelry for many years for myself and as gifts for friends and family. My business began unitentionally, several years ago. A friend of mine always wear jewelry I’ve given her. When others admired it, she told them about me. Over the years, I built a customer base in this way. Those kind friends and co-workers referred others to me and encouraged me to have a Web site so they could tell others where to view my jewelry. After perusing Esty for about a year, I joined in April 2009 and opened my shop in June.

What’s the most difficult thing about running an Etsy shop? I work on promoting my shop in the forums and improving my photos. Photographing my jewelry has been an eye-opening experience. It’s challenging to get lighting and backgrounds right to show the jewelry correctly. I continually work on improving the photos.

What’s one of your favorite items you’ve bought on Etsy? I only made one purchase so far. I custom ordered vinyl letters from WallComments (the shop is currently closed for the time being). She communicated very well and was very easy to work with.

What’s your favorite item in your own shop? My favorite piece changes all the time depending on my mood. I love the Starry Night bracelet. It’s different, yet classic and can go from casual to work to an evening out. It’s so versatile because it can be worked with almost any bead.

How would you define “success” in terms of your Etsy shop? Although my Etsy sales do not show it, I feel I’ve already achieved success because I do what I love. I would love to grow my business enough to support myself and my family without my day job.

Any final thoughts? I love making jewelry and going through the creative process. It helps reduce stress and keeps me grounded. I have a background in , and I always work on learning new techniques and experiment with different materials.

Last time: Page Pottery
Next time: Double-team it with mother/daughter at Miss B’s Boutique and The Supply Shop

I'd love to hear what you think!

