Could custom bridesmaids sets be my niche?

4 Oct

Most successful Etsy jewelry shops seem to have one thing in common. It’s not a price point or a quality or a color or banner.

It’s a specialty.

Here's one of the bridesmaids necklaces I made for Molly, a bride in Maryland. Click through the jump to see some of the earring I made for her.

Here's one of the bridesmaids necklaces I made for Molly, a bride in Maryland. Click through the jump to see some of the earring I made for her.

Making your mark on Etsy in jewelry is really, really hard. Just click on the “jewelry” category and you’ll see 52,668 pages of hand made jewelry for sale.  Trying to get your stuff seen is not easy.

The ones that seem to rack up the sales into the hundreds or the thousands, though, seem to have a specialty. They have something that sets them apart. dandyapple, for example, has these really stand-out lucite gems in her earrings, necklaces and earrings. I’ve seen these items on the front page of Etsy, and a few days ago, I even made some purchases from her. (Trust me, as someone who makes jewelry, I don’t purchase jewelry much. I cannot WAIT to get my necklace and bobby pins!)

My friend Dana tried her hand at an Etsy shop making note cards for a few months, and she quickly realized that, no matter how well done or inexpensively priced or quirky her product, getting noticed in a category as saturated as notecards was going to be very difficult (I still happen to like Button Fuzz). She started a new shop and found a specialty — cupcakes with personality — and has already sold two angry cupcake ornaments to strangers.

My jewelry is well put together. It’s quality. It’s pretty. But, I think, I need a niche.

And maybe I’ve found it: In customized bridal and bridesmaids jewelry.

I made just shipped off my third bridesmaids set to a bride in Maryland this weekend. It was my second set for a stranger, and she found me on Etsy. Molly, the bride, is having 11 (11!) bridesmaids, and she wanted jewelry in gold, ivory and burgundy. You can see the set I made here.

Molly's colors are gold, ivory and burgundy, and all of the findings for her jewlery are gold-plated.

Molly's colors are gold, ivory and burgundy, and all of the findings for her jewelry are gold-plated.

The thing is, my bridesmaids jewelry is simple. It’s completely customizable. It’s lovely and, if I may say so, it’s affordable. I do a search for “bridesmaids jewelry” on Etsy, and some of the prices make my  jaw drop. Weddings are insanely expensive as it is — a bride shouldn’t have to fork over $100 for two necklaces consisting of a sterling chain and small crystal. I want to make the process as easy and pain-free as possible.

Maybe that’s a good motto to have: “Keeping it easy and pain-free, since 1423.”

If you’re interested in having me making a bridal set or bridesmaids sets for your wedding, feel free to convo me at my Etsy shop or leave me a comment on this blog post. Be sure to leave an e-mail address.

I'd love to hear what you think!

