My Favorite Things: Lily earrings

22 Sep

Usually when I spot any kind of handmade jewelry, I see how it’s made. It’s something you simply start doing once you begin to make jewelry yourself. It’s kind of a pain, to be honest; if I see a necklace I like any where from Kohl’s to the Johnny Appleseed Festival, if I know I can make it, I study it to see how it was made, but it’s unlikely I’ll make the purchase.

I don’t really play with metals when I work. I wouldn’t even know where to begin to make something like a stamped piece or sculpted piece. I don’t have a kiln, and I don’t work with materials aside from beads. I wouldn’t have the faintest idea how to make these sterling lily earrings, for example. They are without a doubt one of the most amazing earrings I’ve seen in a long time. I don’t know if AutumnEquinox made the flowers by hand or if she simply purchased them and attached the earring wire. Frankly, I don’t care, because they’re lovely. Give them a looksie.

One Response to “My Favorite Things: Lily earrings”

  1. Jenna September 27, 2009 at 11:59 am #

    Thank you for the feature! I’m glad you like the lily earrings. I did make them completely by hand. I started with the ear wires. It is one continuous piece from the stamen of the lily. I fired the stamen end until it balled to produce the stamen. I then took some sheet metal and stamped out a circle. I carefully bent the circle to the desired lily shape, then soldered the bent circle to the stamen/ear wire. Pickled, polished and that’s it!

I'd love to hear what you think!

