Shop Talk: Island Girl Pottery

8 Sep
Name: Jacqueline Allard
Hometown: Plantation, Florida
Shop name: Island Girl Pottery http://islandgirlpottery.etsy.com
Is there a meaning behind that name? I’ve always thought of myself as an island girl at heart. My mother is from Nevis (an island in the Caribbean Sea) and my father is from Puerto Rico, so I guess it’s in my blood! The Florida Keys are my favorite place to visit, and we go often. From the wild fun times of Key West to fishing off Islamorada or snorkling in Key Largo, the Keys really is my kind of place. I know I sound like an advertisement, but it’s true.
Tell me about one of your favorite items that has been or is currently up for sale on Etsy?
Here’s the link to my favorite
My textured horse sushi tray is my favorite so far. It was the first time I used all of these stamps together. Every time you open the kiln, it’s a surprise. When I saw this one, I loved how the greens and browns turned out, and I loved the shape.
How would you define “success” in terms of your Etsy shop? Just having the ability to sell my work and interact with so many wonderful people is extremly gratifing. When I made my first sale, I jumped up and down. There’s nothing like it.
What is the coolest compliment you’ve gotten for something in your shop? That it looks even better in person. Yeah!

In this edition of Shop Talk, brought to you by Jaclyn1423, meet Island Girl Pottery. As the name implies, these pieces are tropical and insanely fun. After reading this, you just might want to take a vacation to the Florida Keys.

Name: Jacqueline Allard

Island Girl Pottery's textured horse sushi tray

Island Girl Pottery's textured horse sushi tray

Hometown: Plantation, Florida

Shop name: Island Girl Pottery

Is there a meaning behind that name? I’ve always thought of myself as an island girl at heart. My mother is from Nevis (an island in the Caribbean Sea) and my father is from Puerto Rico, so I guess it’s in my blood! The Florida Keys are my favorite place to visit, and we go often. From the wild fun times of Key West to fishing off Islamorada or snorkling in Key Largo, the Keys really is my kind of place. I know I sound like an advertisement, but it’s true.

Tell me about one of your favorite items that has been or is currently up for sale on Etsy? My textured horse sushi tray is my favorite so far. It was the first time I used all of these stamps together. Every time you open the kiln, it’s a surprise. When I saw this one, I loved how the greens and browns turned out, and I loved the shape.

How would you define “success” in terms of your Etsy shop? Just having the ability to sell my work and interact with so many wonderful people is extremly gratifing. When I made my first sale, I jumped up and down. There’s nothing like it.

What is the coolest compliment you’ve gotten for something in your shop? That it looks even better in person. Yeah!

Last time: Mydesigncollectibles
Next time: jeridiehard

Want to have your Etsy shop featured in a Shop Talk? Just leave comment with your contact information or convo me over at Etsy. My shop is Jaclyn1423.

One Response to “Shop Talk: Island Girl Pottery”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shop Talk: jeridiehard « Snap, Crackle, Pop - September 11, 2009

    […] you said Shop Talk: Island Gi… on Shop Talk: Mydesigncollec…Rachel on My Favorite Things: amazing…scott on Shop […]

I'd love to hear what you think!

