Shop Talk: Mydesigncollectibles

2 Sep

Why should you check out today’s Shop Talk, brought to you by Jaclyn1423? Because I’m willing to bet you’ve never seen anything like the goodies over at Mydesigncollectibles, a shop that sells items like butter dishes and business card holders — but like no other butter dishes or business card holders you’ve ever seen.

Trust me.

Name: Ronalyn Hurley
Hometown: Currently, I live in Dickinson, Texas, a very small city between Houston and Galveston
Shop name: Mydesigncollectibles
Is there any meaning behind the name of your shop? My creations are my designs, and I consider them all collectibles, in
addition to being useful.
When did you join Etsy? I opened my shop on Etsy on Dec. 4, 2007.
Tell me about one of your favorite items: I love everything I create, but my newest items are “Springy-Critters,” which can
be used as desk-top business card holders, mail holders, a place for recipe cards in the kitchen and more. My favorite at
but my “Fish with Teeth” http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=21928670 is a close second.
What is your favorite item you’ve purchased: I’ve purchased some wonderful things, so it’s hard to choose just one.
However, one of my favorites is a necklace made from a real hydrangea flower, which I purchased as a gift for my sister-in
-law from “paperplanet”.
How would you define success with your Etsy shop? I feel successful every time a visitor to my shop finds something he or
she loves and purchases it.
What is the coolest compliment you’ve received for something you’ve made? My favorite compliment was when a customer, who
had purchased a covered butter dish for herself, returned to the shop and bought one for a friend, which she ended up
keeping because she loved it so much.
Everything in my shop is based on something I first made for my own use. I enjoy creating items that not only look great
but are useful.

Name: Ronalyn Hurley

A beautiful covered butter dish by Mydesigncollectibles.

A beautiful covered butter dish by Mydesigncollectibles.

Hometown: Currently, I live in Dickinson, Texas, a very small city between Houston and Galveston

Shop name: Mydesigncollectibles

Is there any meaning behind the name of your shop? My creations are my designs, and I consider them all collectibles, in addition to being useful.

When did you join Etsy? I opened my shop on Etsy on Dec. 4, 2007.

Tell me about one of your favorite items for sale in your shop: I love everything I create, but my newest items are “Springy-Critters,” which can be used as desk-top business card holders, mail holders, a place for recipe cards in the kitchen and more. My favorite at the moment is “Blue Bird,” but my “Fish with Teeth”  is a close second.

What is your favorite item you’ve purchased? I’ve purchased some wonderful things, so it’s hard to choose just one. However, one of my favorites is a necklace made from a real hydrangea flower, which I purchased as a gift for my sister-in-law from the shop paperplanet.

How would you define success with your Etsy shop? I feel successful every time a visitor to my shop finds something he or she loves and purchases it.

What is the coolest compliment you’ve received for something you’ve made? My favorite compliment was when a customer, who had purchased a covered butter dish for herself, returned to the shop and bought one for a friend, which she ended up keeping because she loved it so much.

Everything in my shop is based on something I first made for my own use. I enjoy creating items that not only look great but are useful.

Next time: islandgirlpottery
Last time: DawksArt

4 Responses to “Shop Talk: Mydesigncollectibles”

  1. Ronalyn September 2, 2009 at 7:17 pm #

    Thank you so much for featuring me and my shop! I’m very impressed with your blog and I’m honored to be a part of it.
    Ronalyn

  2. paperplanet September 2, 2009 at 9:27 pm #

    Hi Ronalyn and Jaclyn!:-)

    Wonderful feature!
    I Love the shop Mydesigncollectibles!
    It’s a shop that just makes me smile…bright colors, fun, and cheerful. And I Love Beautiful pieces of Art that are functional and serve a purpose in daily Life.

    Ronalyn, Thank You so much fro mentioning my Etsy shop here! I’m Thrilled to bits!
    sherry / paperplanet

  3. scott September 2, 2009 at 11:50 pm #

    You are the shizzzzzeeelll. I love your work. I am currently on my 200th bead at least and will have some stuff to show you this weekend. Will call and do a drive by on Sat or Sun. XOXOXOxo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shop Talk: Island Girl Pottery « Snap, Crackle, Pop - September 8, 2009

    […] time: Mydesigncollectibles Next time: […]

I'd love to hear what you think!

