Shop Talk: astridland

24 Aug

You do not want to miss this installment of Jaclyn1423‘s Shop Talk where you’ll meet Astrid Brucker, shop owner of astridland and a fashion designer who has designed costumes for Broadway.

Not too shabby, hm?

Name: Astrid Brucker
Hometown: New York City
Shop name: astridland

An astridland design

An astridland design

Is there any meaning behind the name of your shop? I got the idea for the name “astridland” from an awards show. The presenter gave an award to someone named “davidland.”
When did you join Etsy? In September 2006.
How did you get started with your shop? I started with scarves, jewelry and bags. I went to Parsons The New School for Design (in New York city) graduated with a bachelor’s degree in fashion design and started making my own clothes and accessories.
Tell me about one of your favorite items that have been or is currently up for sale on Etsy. I like the clean lines, the simplicity and the elegance of my Women Figures Cuff.
What is your favorite item you’ve purchased on Etsy? It was a dress that I purchased for my first Broadway show where I designed the costumes. I used this piece for Tovah Feldshuh‘s understudy in “Irena’s Vow.” I purchased the dress on Etsy for the understudy and then added lace to the collar and had it altered to fit the actress.
How would you define “success” in terms of your Etsy shop? Sales define success, but I think views are important, too, and they help me see what my customers like. And I am happy about shop hearts.
What is the coolest compliment you’ve gotten for something in your shop? That I am someone’s favorite NYC shop.

Last time: The Yarn Yanker
Next time: DawksArt

Want to have your Etsy shop featured in Shop Talk? Just leave a message and let me know. I run them in the order I receive them, so it may take a month or two to get your Q&A in here, but what a great way to let your buyers know a little about you!

One Response to “Shop Talk: astridland”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shop Talk: DawksArt « Snap, Crackle, Pop - August 26, 2009

    […] time: astridland Next time: […]

I'd love to hear what you think!

