Shop Talk: The Yarn Yanker

20 Aug

Today, Snap, Crackle, Pop and Jaclyn1423 bring you a little Q&A action with The Yarn Yanker. Be sure to read all the way through for a tip on how to get involved with her fabulous giveaways!

Name: Keaven
Hometown: Nashville, Tenn. I’ve lived here my whole life so far, and I wouldn’t mind spending the rest of it here
ShopTheYarnYanker

Would I look that cute in a Yarn Yanker knit hat?

Would I look that cute in a Yarn Yanker knit hat?

Is there any meaning behind the name of your shop? I yank yarn. My husband came up with it. We also went through a few “hooker” names, but I’m pretty conservative, and so I thought yarn yanker was a little less R-rated. Most of my items (about 99 percent) will be made with yarn, so it fits.
When did you join Etsy? I actually first joined Etsy last fall under the name Baby Luv Gifts. Currently this shop is still open. When I’m done moving all my merchandise over, I’ll delete it. I opened The Yarn Yanker this past June.
How did you get started with your shop? I first started making baby items to sell at a few different craft shows. They didn’t do well at all. Then I put them up on Etsy. I found that my crocheted animals hats did REALLY well, so I decided to start crocheting more items. Baby Luv didn’t fit my shop anymore because not all my items were baby- or children-related. Hence the opening of my new shop.
Tell me about one of your favorite items that have been or is currently up for sale on Etsy? I LOVE my new crocheted growth chart. I made it specifically for my two daughters. It is hanging in their room. This item is for purchase in my shop made-to-order, as most of my items are.
What is your favorite item you’ve purchased on Etsy? My favorite item I’ve purchased is a tie between gift card guitar picks and Dr. Pepper can necklaces. Love, love, love them!
How would you define “success” in terms of your Etsy shop? I think I’ll consider my shop a success when I have regulars, when I have consistant sales every week. I’m sure it will take a while and plenty of effort on my part, but I can’t wait to get there.
What is the coolest compliment you’ve gotten for something in your shop? Not sure yet. I’ll let you know one day.
Anything else we should know? I’m always open to negotiating on price. If you can’t afford my prices, I understand. Let me know what you could pay, and I’ll see what I can do. And there will always be a giveaway going on at my blog. Check it out.

Last time: Cutie Patootie Beads, your stop for jewelry needs
Next time: astridland, for handmand clothing, purses and more
Want to see your Etsy shop featured in Shop Talk? Just leave a comment here and let me know. I run them in the order I receive them, and I’ve quite a few lined up, so it might take a month or two. But be patient — we’ll get there!

One Response to “Shop Talk: The Yarn Yanker”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shop Talk: astridland « Snap, Crackle, Pop - August 24, 2009

    […] time: The Yarn Yanker Next time: […]

I'd love to hear what you think!

