Half-Blood Prince time

21 Jul

Apologies for being gone for so long and so soon after starting Snap, Crackle, Pop. It’s been a very busy summer.

In the meantime, I’ve started something of a jewelry venture over at jaclyn1423.etsy.com. It turns out, I adore making jewelry. I’ll likely be using Snap, Crackle, Pop to share some of those projects and inspirations.

But before then, it must be done: The new Harry Potter flick. Did I enjoy it? Oh yes, I sure did. Was it everything I hoped it would be? Absolutely not.

Needless to say for fans of the series, “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince” was the film that, by far, was the least like the book. The most annoying changes for me were:

  • Ginny. In the book, she is fiesty and fiery. She’s a baby hellcat. In the film, she becomes boring and quiet. It even taints one of the greatest first kisses ever in literature, which takes me to …
  • … Harry and Ginny’s first kiss. From passionate and in the middle of a very crowded common room to awkward and alone in the Room of Requirement? No thanks.
  • Snape never screams at Harry not to call him a coward. This is huge foreshadowing and irony, and the line is completely taken from us.

I care less about deleting Dumbledore’s funeral and nixing the big battle scene at the end because, frankly, I  understand that a movie is not a book, and some things need to be ditched. Granted, the added scene of burning down The Burrow did little to advance the plot, aside from letting us know that Tonks and Lupin are an item (she calls him “Sweetheart”) and letting us see more of Helena Bonham Carter deliciously playing Bellatrix Lestrange.

To other Potter fans: What say you about the flick?

I'd love to hear what you think!

