Going it solo

21 Jul

I did something awesome this weekend: I went to a movie by myself.

The first time I did this was right after a break up more than a year ago. I went feeling mopey and sorry for myself, and by the time I left, I felt like I always do when I leave a movie theater: very, very happy.

When I watch a movie with someone, I often feel obliged to talk to them. This is much to the annoyance of my fellow movie watchers, I’m sure (luckily, I know how to use my indoor voice). However, there’s definitely something to be said with being comfortable enough with yourself to go to a movie alone.

In this case, it was an 11:45 a.m. viewing of “The Proposal.”

And it rocked.

I was one of five in the theater, and coming out, I have to say first that Sandra Bullock should always and forever sing “Get Low” to Betty White and second, Ryan Reynols might have bumped Paul Rudd from the top of my laminated list.

1) What did you think of “The Proposal”? 2) Ever go to a flick solo?

I'd love to hear what you think!

