M. Night Shyamalan musings

20 Apr

A friend who can only be described as “one who lives in a cultural void” visited on Friday. In the midst of the merriment, he made a shocking confession. Well, two. First: He liked “The  Happening” but didn’t understand “Signs.”

I’ll leave you a moment to process the enormity of that fact.

Second: He had never seen “The Sixth Sense.” More, he somehow missed everyone on the planet talking about the ending back in 1999. Clearly, I had to remedy this situation. I made him stay in the car when I ran in Blockbusters just in case any of the employees decided to make conversation . We poured some wine, and he experienced the wonder that is that “I see dead people” movie.

After it finished and he admitted that he was wildly surprised by that ending, we discussed M. Night Shyamalan. I didn’t bother to tray and convince him that “The Happening” is actually a piece of shit that would have been better acted by the cast of The Muppets, but I did try to convince him of the merits of “The Signs.”

Is the the only human on the planet to like “The Happening”? Is there anyone else who is unaware of “The Sixth Sense’s” ending? How is that possible?

One Response to “M. Night Shyamalan musings”

  1. noheroicsplease April 20, 2009 at 11:21 am #

    Some people are just not into movies, I guess, but I agree with all of your points. I loved “Signs” but was so disappointed with “The Happening”. “The Sixth Sense” totally freaked me out when I saw it in a cinema back in 1999.

    Welcome to WordPress btw!

I'd love to hear what you think!

