Notes from a fantastic weekend

10 Oct

I hadn’t gotten home to see my family in quite a long time. I’ve typically made the trek to Illinois once a month, but this summer was so busy that it’s been about two months since I’ve seen my parents and brother.

The weekend was low-key and full of exactly the kind of stuff I want it to be filled with:

  • A movie with my dad. It’s how we bond. We got in a viewing of “Contagion” on Saturday afternoon. The previews do NOT do that flick justice. It’s superbly well-done and perfectly acted. I’m not remotely a germophobe, but if you are, this is probably your version of “The Exorcist” meets “Paranormal Activity” (Jac’s two Scariest Movies Ever).
  • Shopping with my mom. And that’s how we bond. I haven’t been to a department store in ages, and I must say: Kudos to J.C. Penney for having some fantastic fall clothing.
  • My first outing to Culver’s. Since Joey graduated high school in May, Mom has been able to only find one program for him; he gets to the park district twice a week. It’s nice, but not enough to not keep him from getting bored. He likes him some French fries and regularly wants to go to White Castle, Culver’s or McDonald’s. Well, I had my first Culver’s outing. Good chicken and holy God, that root beer was worth the trip all by itself.

    OK, I got the regular ol' root beer, not the float. But look how yummy-looking!

  • As I finished my walk on Sunday (I walked FOUR TIMES last week — I loathe exercise, so this is kind of huge for me), I saw Dad in the driveway putting air in my bike’s tires. Now, I haven’t been on that thing in like a decade. What they say about never forgetting how to ride a bike is true — what they neglect to say is that you become scared to turn. Or brake. But I brought that bad boy home with me and hope my immediate future sees a bike ride or two before it gets too cold to breath.

How was your weekend?

4 Responses to “Notes from a fantastic weekend”

  1. Liz October 11, 2011 at 12:22 am #

    Great….you were here!

  2. Charlotte October 11, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    That sounds like such a lovely weekend! I also love going to movies with my parents when I go visit (and of course, shopping trips with mom!).

    Hope all’s well with you and you get to take that bike out. This is a beautiful time of year for it :)

  3. A Young Black Woman October 11, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    Okay first–that root beer float looks HEAVENLY. Good Lord. I hate working out too, but I’m trying my hand at getting active.

    This weekend I went with my grandparents to see Ides of March–I adore Ryan Gosling, He’s like a GOD among men. Seriously. It was pretty good, a nice mix of politics and scandal, those two go hand in hand anyway. Hope you have a great week! :)

  4. Claire October 12, 2011 at 3:03 am #

    mmm, that rootbeer looks so delicious! i would love to have a float just about now!!!

    spinning-threads.blogspot.com

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

